Healthy Oatmeal Cookies and Granola Bars

Disclaimer: I was provided with these products (mostly) free of charge through my involvement with Fit Approach. All opinions are my own. I did pay for shipping, which ended up being more expensive than the products themselves, so if you’re in Canada, be warned. I decided to bite the bullet and pay anyway because my Healthy Oatmeal and Lean PB looked so awesome!

MyOatmeal

A few weeks ago I was contacted by Fit Approach (aka – Sweat Pink) to see if I’d be interested in mixing up my own blend of Healthy Oatmeal and creating a few recipes with my blend.

Well of course I was interested! I also really wanted to try out some of the Lean PB since powdered PB is something I’ve been wanting to try for a long time, but for whatever the reason, I hadn’t. (Probably because it isn’t all that easy to find in Canada!).

For the PB I picked from their popular list and went with the Chocolate Hazelnut flavour – basically a healthier version of Nutella – yes please! (total cost $13.99)

photo (32)

photo (31)

I also added a bag of the mystery oatmeal for $5.99 instead of $9.99. I wanted to see what kind of creation would be sent to me.

Finally I created my own Morning Fuel using 5 grain rolled oat, dulce de leche flavouring, cranberries and almonds. (total cost $18.64).

photo (29)

photo (30)

When browsing the site, I also noticed you can sign up for an Oatmeal of the Month membership. The prices are super reasonable (with shipping to Canada approximately $25, this may not be the best idea for us north of the border, but if you’re in the US and love oatmeal, it sounds like a great idea!!).

Now that you know what I ordered, on to the good stuff – recipes!

Since I’m pretty much obsessed with granola bars, I knew I’d be making my tried and true granola bar recipe, but I also wanted to mix it up a bit and make a batch (or two) of cookies using the blends.

Morning Fuel Granola Bars

  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • vanilla extract (I never measure)
  • cinnamon (I never measure)
  • 2 cups Morning Fuel oatmeal

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper (the bars will stick, so you’ll want to do this – plus it makes it way easier to lift out the bars once they’re done). Microwave the coconut oil (if solid) and honey to make them pourable and easier for measuring. Add the first three ingredients to the bowl followed by the dry ingredients. (Tip: I add the coconut oil first since some oil will remain in the measuring cup making it easier to pour out the honey and nut butters). Mix together, press into the pan. Cook for 20 minutes until edges start to brown. Enjoy!!

Mystery Blend Cookies

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups Mystery Blend oatmeal

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, mash bananas with peanut butter. Stir in cinnamon and oatmeal. (Tip: I add the coconut oil first since some oil will remain in the measuring cup making it easier to pour out the honey and nut butters). Drop onto cookie sheet in the size of delicious cookies you would like to eat. Bake for 20 minutes until browned.

Chocolate Hazelnut PB Waffles

Now that I have a waffle maker, I’m pretty much obsessed with making waffles on weekends. When I read the Lean PB could be substituted for flour in baking, I was all over it!

  • 1 1/2 cups waffle mix (I buy Coyote)
  • 1/2 cup Lean PB, Chocolate Hazelnut flavour
  • 2 cups milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 egg

Preheat waffle maker according to manufacturer instructions. Add try ingredients to a bowl, then add when ingredients. Mix with a wooden spoon or whisk. Add 1 cup batter to waffle iron and cook per manufacturer instructions.

I always have left overs, so I like to toast them up the follow day (or days) to keep the love alive!

Now, for the nitty gritty…..would I order Healthy Oatmeal again?

Well….this is tricky. I loved all of the products I picked, but with shipping being so expensive, it’s just not worth it for me. Sadly, shipping options to Canada aren’t always the greatest and I definitely feel like I miss out on some cool products because of it. So due to the high cost of shipping, I wouldn’t purchase again, but I really enjoyed the items I received.

Tell me: If you were going to create your own oatmeal mix, what would you include?

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns
RunKeeper --> angelaraew

10 thoughts on “Healthy Oatmeal Cookies and Granola Bars

  1. Your recipes all sound delicious, may have to try some out. And I also wanted to point out that you can buy powdered peanut butter in Canada, PB2 is sold at Nutters. Both regular and the chocolate flavors.

      • Well you don’t have a Nutter’s in Calgary…weird. So you have a few different options, I can ship you some, you can buy directly from their site or amazon.ca. There are also two stores in Calgary that sell it, http://www.bellplantation.com/locator/ – I don’t know where you live so I don’t know if these are easily accessible to you or not 🙂 There is also a Nutter’s in Airdire and one in Okotoks if that is feasible.

      • I have seen it on Amazon, but for whatever reason I haven’t committed to buying any yet – but I LOVE that amazon.ca is now an option for us 🙂

      • I agree, you can also order some things off of amazon.com and have them shipped into Canada as not everything from the .com site is available on the .ca site – totally stupid but whatever, I work with it.

    • I was TERRIFIED to mix my own. Seriously. I’m the person that puts on ALL THE TOPPINGS at the frozen yogurt bar, so mixing oatmeal could have been a disaster, but mine turned out okay. Whew 🙂

  2. Pingback: Friday Q&A | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a comment