Weekly Plan: 4/21 – 4/27 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 13)

Just a bit of a warning: I’m told as of today my domain is moving over from WordPress to my hosting company. I admit I have no freaking clue what this means for my blog. If you suddenly see it and then *poof* it’s gone – that’s probably what happened. 

Happy Marathon Monday, my friends!! I considered taking today off to watch the Boston Marathon – sadly, I’m stuck at work, so I’ll try to follow along as best I can while working.

I hope everyone had a great weekend with friends and family.

weekly-plan April 21-27

I was able to catch up on sleep a little bit; however, I got to bed way too late on Saturday night and then Merlin decided since I was awake, we should play. Needless to say, I was pretty dang tired come Sunday – but I still managed to get my run in!

Exercise

Monday 10km easy 7.5km easy
Tuesday 4×1.5 miles strong Rest due to my ankle
Wednesday Off Off
Thursday 15k tempo Rest due to my ankle
Friday 12k easy 4k treadmill
Saturday 15k easy 15.8km easy
Sunday 16k long 15k long

Total planned mileage: 78km; actual 42.3km

I did have to take two unscheduled days off due to my ankle being cranky, but I’m happy to say after running on Saturday and Sunday it’s feeling great! It was feeling fine on Friday, but my legs and I were not getting along with the treadmill. I have no idea what the problem was, but I kept stopping due to pain and starting and it was crazy frustrating.

I seriously debating not running on Sunday. I was visiting with girlfriends until after midnight (that’s late for this gal!) and then Merlin kept me up until 2am and woke me up at 6am. Oof. I was dang tired. I did manage to convince myself to get out there and run and I’m super glad I did – I had an amazing run! This isn’t the first time I’ve had a great run after a crappy night’s sleep.

This upcoming week we’re scheduled to have a lot of rain on Tuesday and Wednesday, so hopefully the treadmill and I are able to be friends again. I feel like I’ve spent so much time on the treadmill this winter – I’m really looking forward to running outside all the time.

Here’s what week 13 looks like…

Monday 13km easy
Tuesday 4×1.5 miles strong (since I missed this last week, I’m going to repeat it this week)
Happy Heart 5k
Wednesday Off
Thursday 17k tempo (maybe one day I’ll get a tempo run in…)
Friday 12k easy
Saturday 12k easy
Sunday Calgary Police Half Marathon
10k cool down

Total planned mileage: 95km

The forecast is a bit deceiving – Tuesday doesn’t look terrible, until you see 15mm-20mm of rain in the forecast. Ummm, ew.

photo (18)

I’m undecided how I’m going to tackle the half on Sunday – I’ve thought about treating it like a race, and I’ve thought about just using it as a training run, but I really can’t decide. This might be a race-day decision depending on how I’m feeling and what the weather looks like. Either way, it’ll be nice to run a new route 🙂

Tell me: Do your strong runs seem to come out of the blue?

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday today :)

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

12 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 4/21 – 4/27 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 13)

  1. My strong runs definitely tend to come out of the blue–just look at Saturday for me as well! I also like to game-time decision–following a plan puts pressure on me (in a not good way) for some reason. Basically I’m a wimp and I like to do what I like to do 😀

    • I MUST have a training plan, otherwise my training would be sitting on my couch while thinking about running. I’ve tried it a few times, oddly, it doesn’t work 🙂
      But I’m always up for reevaluating a run depending on how I feel.

  2. All the time my strong runs come out of the blue. This morning I had an awesome interval run on the treadmill! I wouldn’t have stopped if I didn’t have to get to work 🙂 I love these mornings!

Leave a Reply

