Link Love: 4/19

I’m told not everyone had Good Friday off for the Easter weekend. Major bummer. I was pumped for a long weekend. Sleeping in. Running. Relaxing. It was needed after working all weekend last week.

Yesterday I slept for 10 hours. I needed it, oh, did I ever. I don’t often sleep that much (lies, I do every weekend that I can) but I enjoy it when it can!

Link Love April 19

Last night I was supposed to attend a bonfire with my girlfriends, but we had to postpone it due to snow. Yup. Snow. In April. What. The. Heck?! As bummed as I was to have to reschedule, it meant that I was neither tired nor hungover for my 9:45 hair appointment today. No, I’m not sure why I decided to book a 9:45 hair appointment on a Saturday – I guess it seemed like a good idea at the time?

Fun Fact

At my massage a week and a half ago, I was commenting to my massage therapist that nail polish will never ever stay on my nails. My theory was that it had something to do with the natural oils of my nailbed and it was confirmed!

She actually can’t make bread that requires kneading because her natural oils affect how it rises. So, ladies (and gents!) if you ever want to get out of needing to knead bread, blame it on your natural oils!!

Images

my quote

I love this owl. I think he should be my mascot. Well, aside from Merlin, that is.

Popular This Week

Running Makes Me Smile

Ultra Marathon Training Week 12

I Think I Need to Eat More <– THANK YOU so much for all of your amazing comments on this post. It was a bit scary to put all that out there, and I’m so glad to see I’m not alone! ❤

WIAW – Minus Dinner

Link Love

I’ve been having a ton of issues with Bloglovin’ lately. When Google Reader disappeared I went with Bloglovin’ over Feedly because I liked that I was able to see the blog and I thought the set-up was great, but over the past week nearly one-third of all blogs I follow look like this.

sadface

Sad face is RIGHT.

If I’ve noticed I’ve missed your blog, I’ve tried to remember to go to your site, but I know there are some I’ve completely missed and even thought it’s not my fault, I feel badly. I’m certain I’m missing out on some kick-ass posts and that bums me out.

So, if anyone has any recommendations for a new reader, send ’em my way! 🙂

I Am Not Special via Erica House <– I looooove this post, and I’ve felt the same as Erica. I’m really not that special because I do crazy things like run. I just do it.

 I didn’t wake up one morning and just start running with ease. Just two years ago I celebrated being able to run one full mile without stopping!

Our Grocery Budget is $800 (And Why We’re Okay With It) via Back To Her Roots <– I can totally relate to this. I spent a LOT on food for someone who only ever cooks for one. I enjoy food. And I enjoy preparing food, so sometimes my budget is a teeny bit higher than it should be. Oops.

Antibiotics via A Gutsy Girl <– I fully support not running to antibiotics as soon as something is wrong, but I was surprised at the backlash Sarah received for choosing to take antibiotics after being ill for five days.

9 Videos You Can’t Miss This Week via BuzzFeed <– I’m highlighing one that you should watch. You need to watch. Trust me, just click play.

Individual Greek Yogurt Cheesecake via Pretty Little Grub <– YES PLEASE!

5 Tips to Improve Your SEO via The Healthy Maven <– 5 tips that are pretty easy to implement. Now I’ve added a TON to my blog “to do” list. I promise I’ll get to it eventually (actually, probably not until after my race – but after that? WATCH OUT!)

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies via The Little Honey Bee <– I recently purchased almond flour and I keep looking for recipes so this is perfect! Yum!

Effort Is Not Pain via A Life Less Bullshit <– I’m not even sure how to sum this up, other to say, Nicole nailed it with this one. Go read it 🙂

76 Genius Ways to Use Coconut Oil In Your Everyday Life via Greatist <– since I have the world’s biggest tub of coconut oil from Costco, I might as well use it, right?! 🙂

The Difference Between Building MUSCLE and Building STRENGTH via Cotter Crunch written by Suzanne Digre <– as someone who needs build muscle and strength this was super helpful to me.

Can I Run a Marathon? via Mile Posts <– last weekend I was talking to a girl on a break and the subject of my ultra came up (doesn’t it always?) and she made a comment about needing to walk when she runs. I chuckled and said, “Oh, I totally take walk breaks” and she was amazed. So, yes, you, anyone can run a marathon.

What Are Macronutrients: Protein via Jessie Loves To Run <– I can’t share just one post in a series, so here’s Jessie’s post on protein (links to the other two are in Jessie’s post for y’all).

An Unusual What I Ate Wednesday via Oatmeal With A Fork <– I’m glad Lauren addressed what’s become a bit of a trend for WIAW, and that is questioning what people eat. I don’t see it stopping, but I’m glad she she was so transparent in her writing.

The Answer to Every Fitness Question via Brittany Lesser <– as much as I don’t want this to be the answer, I know it’s true.

FYI Friday – Practising Mindful Eating via Pretty Little Grub <– another awesome post from Jen, and it’s perfect timing with Easter being this weekend.

11 Helpful WordPress Plugins for Your Blog via . running with spoons . <– Amanda’s timing is absolutely perfect on this post as I bought a self hosting package on Thursday. I’m waiting for my domain to transfer from WordPress.com to my new host and I’m really hoping I don’t break my blog when I end up making the transfer. I ended up reading all the comments and entering them into my list in Wunderlist (thanks for the recommendation, Kim!!)

photo (17)

Can Being Religious Make You Healthier? via Greatist <– the biggest takeaway from this is community and connections improve your health. So go forth and make connections (religious, or not).

Do You Have to Count Calories to Lose Weight? via Bring Joy <– very timely considering my theme of the week. I definitely agree that tracking food for a period of time to get you “on track” is extremely helpful.

 Tell me: What’s your favourite post from the week?

PS – since I forgot to do this yesterday: it’s one month less one day until my birthday 😀

11 thoughts on “Link Love: 4/19

  1. I had the same theory about nail polish and my nails! Even the expensive shellac polish won’t stay on. I actually thought the oily thing was just something I made up though haha!

    • I totally thought I had made it up too! Then I talked to my massage therapist and it turns out I probably didn’t. Gel manicures also won’t stay on my nails. Nail wraps totally work though – I love the ones from Essie and just got a sample of Jamberry ones to try.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out girlie! I’m glad you’re loving Wunderlist. 🙂 Bloglovin’ has been the PITS lately. It’s the only reader I’ve ever used, but just today I was researching alternatives because it is soooo glitchy lately. The only viable alternative I’ve found is Feedly, but I’ve heard Feedly doesn’t give a pageview credit to the blogger, and I don’t want to sell people short on pageviews! Grumble.

  3. I love the owl and the unapologetically awesome. What is hilarious is that I no joke JUST used the same phrase in my post for tomorrow, then clicked over here and was like, now I just look like a copy cat lol. Great round up as always!

Leave a Reply

