Running Makes Me Smile

Have you ever had a day where you knowΒ exactly what you’re going to post about, but you just can’t seem to do it?

That was me last night and earlier this morning.

cowgirl-runs-treat-yourself-tuesday

Topic was determined (yay for Tuesday!!) and I knew what I was going to say, but the discipline, or motivation, or whatever was completely lacking.

Having a messed up ankle sure doesn’t help when talking about the awesome running gear I bought for myself, considering I’m NOT ABLE TO RUN RIGHT NOW 😦

In case you missed it last night, here’s a super sexy picture of my turgid (heh) ankle.

photo (83)

In case you’re uncertain of the turgid reference, here’s a YouTube video for you….

And then there’s the knowledge that it’s the one year anniversary of the Boston Marathon bombings. And that just makes me all sorts of emotional. I feel like it’s wrong to not acknowledge it, but I also don’t have anything thought-provoking or profound to say about it.

But I am thinking about it.

Now that y’all know all about why this post took me a bit to write, let’s get to the meat of it.

Treats!

Today’s are all running focused – first up clothes!

This means you’ll be subject to a lot (seriously, a lot!) of bathroom mirror selfies. #sorrynotsorry

photo (75)

photo (76)

photo (77)

photo (78)

photo (79)

photo (80)

photo (81)

I told you it was a lot πŸ™‚

IΒ lurve Oiselle clothes. A lot. ❀ They’ve become my absolute favourite clothes to run it.

1 – they’re totally cute and soft and BIRDS. Yay!

2 – I love what they stand for.

I’ve worn everything with the exception of the Lesko Shimmel and I have to say, I love of them.

Next up?

SHOES!

photo (82)

Since my mileage is approaching crazy-ville, I reasoned I would benefit from more shoes. I know, I know, but still.

These arrived on Friday and I was pumped!

Yesterday I mentioned one of the pairs was too big – that would be the pink ones – the Gravity III’s. I’ve already heard back from Newton and the exchange to a half-size smaller is no problem at all.

Newton Running gets a HUGE thumbs up from me for amazing customer service!

With these purchases I should be set for training and races for the next little while, but as every runner knows, we can always justify a purchase πŸ™‚

Tell me: What’s your favourite brand of running apparel and shoes?

TreatYourselfTuesdayBadge_thumb.jpg

I’m linking up withΒ BeckyΒ for Treat Yourself Tuesday today.

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

26 thoughts on “Running Makes Me Smile

  1. My current fav running sneakers are my brooks adrenaline but I am kind of jonesing for the Mizunos….I’m hoping I get them as a mothers day gift..lol… most women ask for jewelry, I ask for running gear. I currently do not have any favorite running gear, if you can believe it… I mean I wear a lot of nike stuff but I’m pretty indifferent ya know? However, I am digging that running tank

    • If/when/whatever I have kids, I’m CERTAIN I’ll be asking for running gear πŸ™‚
      I’ve never tried Mizunos, but I know a LOT of people love them.
      The flyte tanks are so, so soft and comfy. It’s probably a good thing they don’t have many colours because I’d have way too many of them! πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, what a great shopping spree! I have yet to try Oiselle but have been eyeing them up for years. My treat for the day (a new purse) is sitting in an online shopping cart as we speak, I’m just daring myself to push the β€˜order’ button! Ha ha.

  3. Love my Asics. But, I got a great deal on a neutral support Brooks that I put my orthotic inserts in and they have been doing the job.

    Also, My treat today were Lulu Still pants. I’m currently having them hemmed, but I am pumped to use them as a travel pants. Super comfy.

  4. I love that long sleeve bird shirt! I may have to buy it…then we will pass eachother on the paths wearing the same shirt. πŸ˜‰
    Mizunos have been my favourite running shoes but Im interested in these Newton shoes too. I definitely need new running shoes, mine have too many miles on them right now.

    • I also have it in bright pink. It’s totally my favourite shirt!
      Gords has Newton’s – you should go in and try them on to see if you like them. They have a very minimal heel drop (my Gravity III’s are 3mm) so take a bit of getting used you; you’ll definitely feel it in your calves, but I find I’m a much more efficient runner with them.

  5. Lately I’ve gotten really into cross training and have been wearing my nikes! Not the best running brand haha but for my 3-4 mile runs they are perfect !

    • See, that’s the thing….I’m uncoordinated, so I really don’t know what I did to my ankle. Just that it was really puffy and sore yesterday and it’s less puffy and sore today. No fun 😦

  6. I’m not fussy over my shoes, i usually go with what is cheapest (nike outlet) since i wear them for 6 months until i kill them and then buy new ones. MY last pair are saucany’s and i actually like them.

    The oiselle stuff is super cute!!! Have you tried yoga socks before? I ‘m going to be doing a lot more yoga at home and i am debating on buying a cheaper yoga mat or socks cause the dogs like to ‘help’ me in my poses.

    • Ahem. Missy. Go get yourself fitted for PROPER running shoes ASAP. Seriously. They will make a HUGE difference and you won’t get injured πŸ™‚

      I bought cheapo socks with grippies on them at SuperStore and they work well, but I also have a grippy mat which helps. And I need all the help I can get πŸ™‚

  7. Oh my gosh, I LOVE the shoes! Like seriously love and think I need… πŸ˜‰ hehehehe… Do you know if they make a “neutral” shoe? I also love the new workout clothes! A huge bummer about your ankle (ouch!) but soon enough you’ll be back to running πŸ™‚

    • The Gravity’s (the pink ones) are a neutral shoe πŸ™‚ The Motions (purple) are a bit more of a stability shoe, but I’m pretty sure the majority of the shoes they make are all neutral.
      I’m very good an enabling purchases. Hehe πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Link Love: 4/19 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

