Weekly Plan: 4/14 – 4/20 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 12)

Instead of reviewing and planning my training last night, I threw myself a bit of a pity party. After spending all day Saturday and most of Sunday grading papers I was pumped to go for a run….and then everything kind of fell apart.

cowgirl-runs-weekly-plan

I was all excited to run in my new shoes because running in new shoes is awesome and amazing and wonderful.

But? They’re too big 😦

My heel kept slipping out and I finally turned around and stomped home.

I was extra bummed until I realized I can exchange them no questions asked for up to 30 days.

So then I poured myself a glass of wine and watched The Good Wife.

Exercise

Monday 10km easy 4km – my legs were like lead.
Tuesday 6x1mile strong 4×1 mile (10.11km)
Wednesday Off – Massage!! Off!!
Thursday 15k tempo 8.5km tempo. Ish.
Friday 12k easy 12k easy
Saturday 15k easy 2k walk
Sunday 29 long 😦

Total planned mileage: 91km; actual 55.7km

As of today there are 47 days until my race. I keep telling myself that the crappy running days are “mental training” days, I had a lot of them this week.

After running 21.1km on Sunday, my run on Monday was hard. Unbelievably hard.

That said, I did notice my legs felt good on Tuesday, so that counted for something. I felt great on Tuesday until my stomach decided it had other plans. Like lead in my tummy. I really wanted to get in my last two intervals but it just wasn’t happening. At all.

Thursday was a mess of “what can go wrong”. First, I decided to do a hard run the day after my massage therapist stripped my shins. Yeah, probably not a great idea. Then I wore stiff speed shoes. Again, not a great idea. I did make it half distance, which felt good – and confirmed that it really does take me 30 minutes to get warmed up when running.

This weekend didn’t quite go as planned. At all. I’m a bit bummed about it, but I’m also not going to beat myself up over it. I so rarely end up working all weekend, and I’m pretty certain one weekend of low mileage won’t kill me.

Here’s what week 12 looks like…

Monday 10km easy
Tuesday 4×1.5 miles strong
Wednesday Off
Thursday 15k tempo
Friday 12k easy
Saturday 15k easy
Sunday 16k long

Total planned mileage: 78km

I’m feeling good about this upcoming week.

I’m pumped about having Friday off, so I can sleep in, be lazy and run.

Today is gorgeous, so I brought my running gear to work with me so I can run at lunch. This means my run will probably only be about 7km, but I think it’s a fair trade off to be able to enjoy a bit more of the evening 🙂

Tell me: How long does it take you to get warmed up for a run?

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday today :)

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

28 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 4/14 – 4/20 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 12)

  1. How long does it take to warm up? It’s tough. I know the first 10 minutes are super tough. The first 30 are where I’ll start to feel a little twinge of pain here or there and start questioning my route. Once I make it past that, though, it’s usually pretty golden.

    • That sounds EXACTLY like my warm ups.
      I try to pretend the first 10 minutes don’t even exist because they’re always awful.
      And you’re so right about the imaginary pains until the 30 minute mark. I plan a lot of my routes so I’m forced to not make any decisions until I hit the 5km/30 minute mark and then I can usually keep going just fine.

  2. Where did you get your shoes from that it’s a no questions asked return policy? I’m in the market for a new pair!
    it always takes me a couple of kilometres before I feel warmed up. I’m always like I hate this, why am I doing this for usually the first 4!

  3. I love that you write your plan and then your actual workouts you did! *I pressed enter before I finished typing. lol

  4. Pingback: Running Makes Me Smile | Cowgirl Runs

  5. Because I have asthma, I’m warming up my respiratory system more than my muscles. I do about 3 minutes of brisk walking, 3 more of light running, and then I stretch for about 6 minutes. I only run for 30-45 minutes right now, so a 30 minute warm-up would kind of kill my desire to run.

    • I did 7.5km at lunch yesterday and the last 2.5km felt great, but before hand it was just terrible. I had a side stitch, my shins hurt and I was a mess. Once I get past the 30 min point I’m golden – it’s just like a switch. But an annoying one 🙂

  6. Pingback: Link Love: 4/19 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

