Weekly Plan 4/7 – 4/13 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 11)

Hello and Happy Monday, friends! 🙂

As I write this, it’s Sunday evening and I have wine, tea and nuun beside me. I’m obviously making sure I’m well hydrated after my weekend 🙂

weekly-plan april 7-13

I can’t wait to tell you about this week of training, but first, I owe y’all a huge apology. I realized I pre-wrote my post last week and did a crap job editing it. I didn’t actually run 30km on my treadmill. I planned on it, but it just wasn’t my day, so I’m sorry for being a crappy blogger and an even crappier editor.

Exercise

Monday 13km easy Off – sick
Tuesday 4 x 1200m speed Off – sick
Wednesday Off 12.43km
Thursday 15km tempo 4 x 1200m speed – total 12.8km
Friday 12k easy 10.71km easy
Saturday 15k easy 14.75km easy
Sunday 16k long 21.1km long

Total planned mileage: 80km; actual mileage 71.8km

My week got off to a rocky start with some dizziness and a low-grade fever on Monday and Tuesday, but as you can see, it improved significantly after those days.

After being crappy and snowy, Wednesday was relatively nice so I ventured outside and ended up running in a snowstorm for the last 2km! I’m super glad it was just the last 2km of my run because I’m not a fan of running in crap weather.

After my issues last week, I gave myself about 90 minutes after waking to eat and digest before heading out and I had no issues with dizziness on Saturday or Sunday. I was even able to shed layers and run in a tank top both days. It wasn’t super warm, but warm enough that I wasn’t cold while running in just my tank 🙂 I even got a bit of a tan and I might have done a little happy dance after noticing some tan lines! 😀

I’m really hoping I can keep my momentum going forward for the next seven weeks until my race 🙂

Here’s what week 11 looks like…

Monday 10km easy
Tuesday 6x1mile strong
Wednesday Off – Massage!!
Thursday 15k tempo
Friday 12k easy
Saturday 15k easy
Sunday 29 long

Total planned mileage: 91km

Eeps!

Another week with crazy high mileage.

I’m actually working all weekend (and I do mean all weekend, 8-8 on Saturday and 8-4 on Sunday) so it’ll be interesting to see how I fit in my runs. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get out for a run Saturday after work but Sunday will be a bit tricky. I’m not going to put too much pressure on myself and will play it by ear and do my best to get my mileage in.

It’s also been a while since I’ve done a Hanson’s Method post, so after I review what the heck a strength run is, I’ll write a blog post about it! 🙂

Tell me: What are you looking forward to this week?

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday today :)

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

22 thoughts on “Weekly Plan 4/7 – 4/13 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 11)

  1. Fitting long runs around work can be tough! Best of luck getting it done!! Sometimes I’ve run from home to work, then taken transit home. Would something like that work for you?

    • I don’t think it will for this weekend. I’m marking exams at MRU and have to bring my laptop and such to do it – it’s contract work and not work-work, so getting to/from MRU might be a bit tricky, unfortunately. Thankfully these weekends don’t happen very frequently.

  2. Fingers crossed you can fit in your long run! At least you have the sun on your side now so it won’t be pitch dark if you end up running after work.

    • I really love my weekend runs. I have a bit of a lazy morning beforehand which is nice.
      This weekend is unusual with the working, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out. I’ll definitely run, it just might not be as long.

  3. Your running lengths and commitment are definitely inspiring! Hope you’re feeling better as you start the week.
    As for what I’m looking forward to, I’m excited about a three day weekend this week! It’s only Monday and I’m already ready. 🙂

  4. Wow well done on turning your week around after starting off not well. I hope you feel 100% better now. I love how you post in km’s so I actually know exactly how far you have to run since I don’t know the mile conversion easily off the top of my head 🙂

  5. Good luck with your training this week! And enjoy that massage!

    I am looking forward to getting out and having some fun today 🙂 We are going to see if we can find a new place to hike with our dogs!!

  6. Pingback: Boots, Movies and Gelato – Oh my! | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

