Link Love: 3/29

Wow. Nearly the end of March already. It seems so crazy that one-quarter of 2014 is already done.

starbucks_logo_mug_14_oz_black_etch_0

I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting over the past two weeks. This exact time last year is definitely when I was at my worst. My anxiety was the highest it was, and I just felt so unbelievably lost. I’ve had feelings of the lost-ness and sadness creep in over the past few weeks and I’ve been doing my best to be thankful.

Thankful that I’m in a far better place than I was last year and thankful that I have a great job, good friends and the sweetest cat ever. Instead of being stressed about running (like I have been over the past few weeks) I’m trying to get back to using running as a way to de-stress. A way for me to be alone with my thoughts and to figure things out – I haven’t been doing that lately.

Last April was a new beginning for me. I started a new job and really committed to making myself happy, and I hope I can continue to make myself happy through Spring 2014 as well.

Enough heavy thoughts for a Saturday – here’s what I loved this week! 🙂

Images

10153694_10152394756894101_60378992_n

^^ sorry not sorry

tumblr_n2zmqne3iy1t0h9oxo1_500

10152534_333799820108187_1577403776_n

Popular This Week

Let’s Have Coffee

The Leg Bone’s Connected to the Shin Bone

I’m Excited…

Treating Myself Well

You guys blew me away with all your comments and love this week. Seriously. Thank you ❤ I smiled so hard while answering comments all week!

Link Love

The Secret That Helped Me Increase My Web Traffic via Treble In the Kitchen <– a few weeks ago I mentioned about wanting to grow my blog and become self hosted, Blog School is a way to help me grow my blog, so I’m really considering joining for six months to see where it takes me.

How to Find Images for Your Blog that Don’t Suck via Blog Genie <– Thanks to Tara’s post about Blog School, I’ve been checking out the Blog Genie site and these image sites rule. You won’t regret poking around – I promise!

10 Life Lessons to Excel in Your 30s <– I’ve certainly been feeling a bit lost over the past while (maybe you’ve noticed?) so I appreciated the advice for two reasons. 1 – I’m doing fairly well at some things and 2 – not every 30-something has it all figured out. But I’m working on it.

Are Most Bloggers Liars? via Erica House <– I really like this post from Erica and I think she’s really brave for sharing it with the world. I agree that I sometimes struggle with what to share and what not to share. I want to be honest with anyone reading, but I also think it’s okay if I don’t share everything about my life.

Healthy Bloggers – Are They Telling the Truth? via The Fit Chronicles <– a follow-up by Alison on Erica’s post above. Note: I’m not trying to criticize or crap on HLB’s as a whole, but I can honestly say I have looked at some bloggers meals and thought “There’s NO WAY I could survive on that” and “but what about CARBS and DESSERT?” and I figure if I’m thinking it, others might be as well. I do think there can be pressure to look a certain way online, especially when it comes to food and fitness. In light of this (and whoa, tangent!) I’m going to be posting a sampling of my daily eats over the next few weeks and am going to highlight running days, rest days and weekends in an attempt to give a good cross-section of what I consumed to fuel my body and workouts. (Yes, even after this post)

Chocolate Coconut Butter via My Whole Food Life <– I have plans to make this over the weekend and maybe even try my hand at nut butter!

8 Tips To Have A Positive Body Image and Stop Obsessive Eating Habits via Your Trainer Paige <– Anytime I have a bad week (or a bad few weeks) my default is to start obsessing over food, my weight, exercise and bring in negative selftalk. This was a much-needed read for me this week.

Men Are Posting Pictures of Their Penises in Socks on Instagram For Cancer Awareness and It Is So, So Good via Buzzfeed <– probably the greatest thing I’ve ever seen on the internet. And, yes, that means it’s better than the cat in a shark suit riding a Roomba.

Ibuprofen and Running <– if you’re a runnier, read this. The end.

Run This Year April Instagram Challenge via Running Hutch <– I’m taking part in RTY (aka Run This Year) with a goal of running 2014km in 2014. I’m not 100% certain I’ll make the mileage, I’m already behind by roughly 150km (oops!) but we’ll see. Either way, I’m excited to give the April Instagram challenge a go.

rty-april-instagram-challenge

Happy Heart Virtual 5km via Darwinian Fail <– I know there are a lot of virtual races out there, and I don’t often participate in them, but I’m going to be joining Krysten to run 5km on April 22 (or anytime from April 21-27) to honour what would have been her dad’s 61 birthday. All funds raised will go straight to the Heart and Stroke Foundation. Please consider donating and joining in on the virtual 5k on April 22.

Real Talk: The Time I Got Life-Changing Clarity From Using a Compost Toilet In the Desert For Four Days via A Life Less Bullshit <– still loving Nicole’s posts. Truly. It made me realize how often I do this – how often I go into a situation with my mind already made up, not to mention how much time I spend agonizing over and dreading something I’m “completely sure” I’m not going to like. I can’t tell you how much I relate to this.

What Happens To Your Body During an Ultra Marathon <– I was kinda scared to read this…..

Ultrarunning: Are We Meant to Go the Distance <– yet another post making me feel awesome about running 50km…

Why Runners Can’t Eat Whatever They Want <– sadface. And also, so true!

Why Magazines [Geared Towards Women] Suck via Olive to Run <– I love Cori’s blog and I love that Cori isn’t afraid to say what she thinks. While I’m a magazine subscriber (kind of, I have a NextIssue membership) I’ve very much gotten away from reading Self (never, ever, ever again!), Glamour, Cosmo, etc and focus on reading magazines like Food, Runner’s World (although there are a few too many weight loss articles for my taste) Running Times, etc.

What is LAME is when you bandit a race, take things that paying runners paid for while taking thirteen selfies of men without consent and then monopolizing on it.  [See my friend Erica’s post for more information and Runner’s World’s hilarious rebuttal.]

See?! Mad love for my pal Cori for writing this! ❤

What’s the Best That Could Happen via Run Pretty <– I really love this post from Presley. It’s a great way to flip worries on their head. A lot of times I look at things from the “what’s the worst that could happen” standpoint, but why don’t we flip that and look on the positive, “what’s the best that could happen?”.

27 Little Struggles Only Runners Know via Thought Catalog <– ha! So true!

What Are Macronutrients? via Jessie Loves to Run <– a really good post that breaks down the macronutrient categories (carbohydrates, proteins, fats and….alcohol) and why each one is important.

Just (Don’t) Do It via Must Love Jogs <– first, can we talk about how clever the name of this blog is?! I love it! Second, this is a really good post breaking down elite runners moving from Nike to other smaller companies.

Let’s Talk About Poop via Nutty About Health <– I couldn’t not share this, I mean, really 🙂 Also, you’re welcome. Heh.

Supporting Those In Your Community via FueledbyLOLZ <– I love Hollie’s blog because she doesn’t bullshit her posts. She’s an awesomely fast runner and writes wonderfully. I love her thoughts on the race bandit and the SELF magazine kerfuffle from this week.

 If you are going to take from the community, then you must give back.  You cannot take and not give back.

This woman was running a marathon and they were judging her for what she was wearing

See? That Hollie is one smart cookie 🙂

How to Avoid Crisiticm via The Fit Chronicles <– I very much believe that if you can’t be criticized, you’re probably doing it wrong. Thanks for the reminder, Alison!

Helpful Blogging Tips via Eat Great BE Great <– I’ve become a bit, shall we say, obsessed in making my blog more awesome, so anything with tips and links I read 🙂

Blogging Tactics via Sweet Miles <– again, help for the ole blog. LOVE IT!

Holy crap, lots of links this week, hey?!

What can I say – when I see something I LOVE I want to share it!!

Tell me: What’s your favourite link from the past week?

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

16 thoughts on “Link Love: 3/29

  1. I love the things you should do in your 30’s, most of those things cam naturally in my 30’s, but the point about none of really get it together. So true, I’m basically never going to feel like a grown up that has it all together, I’m just better at acting like a grown up that has it all together!

  2. What happines it brought me to hear how far you’ve come over the past year. I always love reading about recovery & success stories. Keep doing what your doing (smiling & enjoying life), because you were put here for a good reason ❤

    p.s. Thanks so much for sharing my post. So kind of you.

  3. I loved Erica’s post too I thought it was such an interesting one and I have definitely seen some bloggers posts and thought Hmm is that true or is that the full truth? Especially when you read them over time.

    That penis – happiness pic…comedy gold 🙂 Loved all the other happy pics too.

  4. The before, during, and after running is me. Especially if you put me in the sun lol I melt down and ten seconds after I am done, I am like that was awesome 🙂 It will take me a week to get through all your link ups!

  5. Ty for sharing my post! I loved reading the response post to it as well. I don’t think I would have come across it if you hadn’t have shared it so I really appreciate it! I’ve received quite a bit of … diverse feedback on that post lol.

Leave a Reply

