Weekly Plan: 3/24 – 3/30 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 9)

So. Happy Monday?

weekly plan

 

I did have the awesome weekend I was hoping for, I had dinner plans Friday, watched Need for Speed Saturday, went for brunch on Sunday (after I ran) and saw Divergent, so it was far busier than my last weekend.

I think the fun (or eating not-so-great food) hit me as I woke up with a migraine this morning and was late for work. Certainly not how I anticipated spending my Monday :/

Exercise

Monday 7k easy 7.5k at lunch. Yay
Tuesday Off – Chiropractor A much needed adjustment 🙂
Wednesday 6x800m speed Done! Total mileage 14.5km
Thursday 9k tempo Nope. I went for a walk at lunch in my work shoes and could feel in it my shins. Oops.
Friday 7k easy My shin was still bothering me so I rested
Saturday 10k easy Alonther day of rest. I had my chiro work on my shin and figured it would be better to ice than run
Sunday 16k long 10km. Our weather was crap and my motivation on the treadmill waned after 6.2 miles.

Total planned mileage: 56km. Total actual mileage: 32km. Not quite what was planned, but double last week. So, yay?

The bad news of this past week is that my shin was still bugging me, the good news is its a different part of my shin and the tendonitis seems to have been cleared up.

I’m obviously still struggling a bit with my training, and our cold and snowy weather (yup. still) isn’t helping with my motivation. I’m even on the fence about running today because of my headache from this morning. I’ll have to see how the rest of my day goes and just take it from there…

Here’s what week 9 looks like…

Monday 7k easy
Tuesday 5x1km speed
Wednesday Off
Thursday 15k tempo
Friday 12k easy
Saturday 7k easy
Sunday 29k long

Total planned mileage: 80km.

Ummmm. Yeah. So things really start to ramp up this week. The first half (9 weeks) of my training program were base building and now it’s really getting into training since there are only *gulp* 9 weeks until my race.

I’m definitely feeling a bit nervous looking at my mileage, especially my long run on Sunday…

I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday today :)

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

Tell me: What was the best part of your weekend?

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

14 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 3/24 – 3/30 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 9)

  1. Have you had a doctor check your shin? I put off having mine look at mine, thinking it was just “shin splints” now I get to cancel my marathon because of a stress fracture…we figure I ran on the fracture for nearly 6 weeks 😦

    • I’m SUPER paranoid about stress fractures because of my shin splints, but I’ve had zero pain since Sunday, so I’m thinking I just over did it some. I really hope you heal up soon!

    • I am! My massage therpist is really awesome and she taught me that potassium and magnesium help wtih muscle cramping and soreness so I really try to eat a lot of it so I’m not achy and sore after my training runs.

Leave a Reply

