Weekly Plan: 3/17 – 3/23 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 8)

Before we get into it, are you wearing green today? My favourite tea store is giving out free tea for anyone wearing green today, so definitely stop by for a yummy cup!!

weekly plan

*sigh*

Okay. So where to begin with this week?

I figure I’ll show how it happened and then talk about it, or something…

Exercise

Monday 7k easy Off – Another Monday off, I also had gals over for the finale of The Bachelor
Tuesday 8x600m speed Nope. Sick today, did 20 minutes on the bike
Wednesday Off Massage. It hurt and was wonderful.
Thursday 9k tempo Nope. I tried, but my ankle was still a bit tender from my massage, so I rested instead
Friday 7k easy 6km easy – I felt pretty good during this run, I really didn’t want to push it
Saturday 10k easy 6.4km easy – again I wanted to take it easy on my ankle, so I kept this run short
Sunday 16k long 4.3km – oof. This run just didn’t want to happen. I felt off the whole time.

Total planned mileage: 54km. Total actual mileage: 16.7km. Whomp whomp 😦

I find in my training I have great consistency within a week, but terribly consistency week-to-week. Take last week for example, I was wonderful in getting my runs in. Then this week I was great at not running. Lots of consistency within in the week, but not so much week to week. I was very focused on taking it easy because of my injury, but I’m also pretty bummed I wasn’t able to make my mileage for Saturday and Sunday.

Thankfully my Sunday problem wasn’t related to my ankle (well, aside from falling off my stability ball on Saturday and giving myself a massive bruise) but to my breathing. I haven’t seen my chiropractor in a long time (far too long) and I have a rib out on my right side which is causing me to keep getting cramps when I run. I’m hoping an adjustment will clear this issue up for me.

Sometimes I wonder if I second guess myself too much; if I should just stick it out and I’ll be okay. I just….don’t know. With 10 weeks until my race and nearly being halfway through my training, I know I can’t really continue dropping mileage and skipping runs, so I’m hoping my body just needed a bit of a rest this week so I can get back to it next week.

I hope.

Here’s what week 8 looks like…

Monday 7k easy
Tuesday Off – Chiropractor
Wednesday 6x800m speed
Thursday 7k easy
Friday 9k tempo
Saturday 10k easy
Sunday 16k long

Total planned mileage: 56km

I’m really really hoping I’m able to get my runs in this week. I feel like I’m needing a bit of a boost in my running confidence, especially after this past week. Right now I’m questioning signing up for this 50k. It’s something I’m certain I can do, but I also know it’s something that I need to train for.

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday today :)

Tell me: How do you approach setbacks in your training?

11 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 3/17 – 3/23 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 8)

    • I’m trying VERY hard not to count the weeks!
      I had a great run today and with a chiro appointment tomorrow I’m hopefully I’ll be good going forward 🙂

  1. Since moving to Chicago, it seems like I have only experienced set backs. When I lived in Virginia and NYC, I ran hills all the time and I was still riding horses, so I was much more properly balanced, my glutes had great activation, and my ankles stayed supple. These days, it is all tight IT bands, stiff ankles, nonexistent glutes causing issues, and currently, a hamstring strain. Last year I was terrified I wouldn’t be able to run my marathon (I was in fact able to, and I ran it conservatively but it was fab), so this year I am just trying to embrace this push back by pushing forward and rebuilding everything properly! Good luck!

  2. Thanks for the post! I’m a new runner and it can be tricky listening to my body when it is more tempting to just “do it”. I’m on a training plan where I’ve had two “do-over” weeks because I wasn’t able to meet my set goals. It was a little disappointing! But better for me 🙂

  3. Pingback: Link Love: 3/22 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

