Weekly Plan: 3/3 – 3/9 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 6)

Before I get too far into it, this past week included a lot of rest.

Like, a lot.

weekly plan

I always struggle with whether or not to run when I’m feeling under the weather. I knew I should take Thursday and Friday off because I was barely able to function at work. No working = no running.

Saturday I really wanted to run so I did 15 minutes on the bike to warm up and made it 3 minutes on the treadmill before I thought I was going to die. I’m fairly certain I used seven Kleenex in that 18 minute period as well. Have you ever attempted to blow your nose when running? It’s not so fun.

Exercise

Monday Off – Universal Studios Kelly’s FitBit said we walked 10,000 steps while we were there, so I’ll call it active rest 🙂
Tuesday Off – flying home Nailed it!!
Wednesday Off Off 🙂
Thursday 8k run Quality time on the couch – dang cold!
Friday 10k run More time on the couch
Saturday 8k run 15 min on the bike
Sunday 11.5k run 5k run

Old me would be displeased with how this week went, but I really wanted to make sure this cold went away so I could get back into training. On Saturday I picked up Oil of Oregano (it’s awful) and oscillococcinum to attempt to kick the cold in the butt. I have no idea if they actually worked, but I felt better on Sunday, so I’ll take it!! 🙂

Monday 7k easy
Tuesday 12x400m speed
Wednesday Off
Thursday 9k tempo
Friday 7k easy
Saturday 14.5 easy
Sunday 14.5 easy

And just like that it’s back to full on training.

With 12 weeks until my race I’m going to really try and focus on the areas other than running: stretching, rolling, sleep, and nutrition, in order to keep myself healthy as I build up my mileage to come crazy numbers. I’m also really going to focus on getting my six days a week in as this program won’t provide me with the benefits I’m looking for if I don’t follow it.

I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday today :)

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

Tell me: How was your training last week?

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns
RunKeeper --> angelaraew

14 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 3/3 – 3/9 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 6)

  1. Glad to hear you’re feeling better! I find that getting sick through training serves more as a mental battle than anything else during training. Oil of oregano sucks but I swear it works wonders!

    • Yes, I so agree that it’s a mental battle when sick. I never know how much to do or how hard to push. When I swam it didn’t matter how sick I was, I did it. Now that I’m older (and wiser? that’s probably debatable) I know I should rest, but I’m ALWAYS second guessing myself.

  2. Rest is good. I haven’t been hitting my mileage yet because of this darn weather & my schedule. I am crossing my fingers I see a long run in my future! I think you’re doing great.

    • Ugh. This weather. Dislike!!
      Knowing I have 12 weeks until race day is comforting I know I’ll be able to hit my training marks for most of March, April and May 🙂

    • I hate that they linger! I’d rather be sick for a day and then better instead of halfway well for a week. Hope you’re feeling better now!

Leave a Reply

