Thinking Out Loud: 2/27

Am I the only one that feels like February absolutely flew by?

Thinking-Out-Loud

I swear it was just the beginning of February last week!

Today I want to chat about sick.

I feel like I’ve spent a lot of this winter sick – and I don’t like it. I was hoping resting at home yesterday would have helped with feeling sick, but I woke up not feeling so great today. I don’t have the flu, just a head cold, but I’m so fed up with not feeling 100% that I’m frustrated.

Since I’m back at work today I grabbed my sick drink: a grande no whip caramel apple spice. I crave these when I’m sick.

I also crave anything on white bread and either pho or wonton soup. Things that aren’t always good for me, but they taste good and comfort me. (I plan on consuming pho and watching Scandal tonight after a nap, it sounds like such a good way to spend an evening).

I’m hoping I’m able to get rid of this with lots of sleep because I really don’t want to miss six weeks of training again – that’ll put me too far behind to catch up for my 50k in June.

On that note……

Tell me:

  1. What do you crave when sick? Do you have a drink or food you like to consume?

  2. What are your tried and true ways for kicking a cold in the butt?

Please forgive the briefness of this post – my brain feels like it’s full of cotton.

Thinking-Out-Loud (1)

Once again, thanks to Amanda for the link up!

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns
RunKeeper --> angelaraew

16 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: 2/27

  1. I don’t have a ‘sick’ food or a tried and tested way of getting rid of continual colds! I feel your pain, last year I was constantly coming down with something which ended with a lovely spell of bronchitis, which like a muppet, I worked through. This year I’ve had one cold. So sometimes it’s just a cycle. I do have a theory about washing your hands though. Obviously do that a lot, but also moisturise your hands loads, I read somewhere that dry hands pick up germs more. This is probably nonsense but I have been doing it and I’ve only had one cold so I’m going to carry on with it!

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Not a single cold/flu since I started using oscillococcinum (Boiron brand) at the first sign of something coming (that little tickle in your throat). And, the wet sock (or magic sock) treatment. It sounds nuts, but it WORKS. Soak your feet for 20 minutes in water as hot as you can stand – add a little lavender oil if you have some, but it’s optional. Pat dry and rub rosemary oil into your feet (optional as well). While your feet are still nice and warm, run a pair of cotton socks under ice cold water – wring them out and put them on – cover with a pair of dry wool socks and wear to bed. It’s really not as awful as it sounds. This treatment gets your circulation going, which boosts blood flow through your lymphatics and kicks up your immune system. I love my naturopath and all her crazy remedies! She also recommends this for headaches.

    Feel better!

    • I’m going to have to pick up some oscillococcinum. I’ve seen in it in the stores, but wasn’t sure it worked – at this point, I’ll give anything a shot!

      Last time I was sick I had my massage therapist train my lymph nodes and it made a big difference.

  3. I feel your pain, I’ve been sick a bunch this year too! And I currently have a scratchy throat.
    I typically crave thai curry when I’m sick, specifically the thai curry veggie soup from Happy Planet, but it’s full of good stuff (garlic, ginger, lemongrass, chili) so I like to think it helps!

    Hope you feel better soon lady!

  4. Ginger ale, homemade chicken soup and toast are my go to foods when sick!

    I absolutely hate getting sick when you know you should be training…it’s so frustrating.

    I hope you feel better soon!

  5. Php is great for when you are sick and i don’t think it’s that bad for you? I like to load up on vitamin C and mix honey and lemon juice into hot water at night. Hmm that just reminded me i have some of that neo citron tea which i take occasionally.. i think i am going to make myself some tea tonight.

    Also caramel apple spices? amazing. feel better!

  6. Awwr sorry to hear that you haven’t been feeling well, girl 😦 This year seems to have been a bad one for a lot of people — most are complaining about lingering sick-but-not-sick feeling that just won’t go away. I hope you feel better soon ❤

    And it's definitely all carbs and smoothies for me when I'm not well. If it's my throat, then smoothies and ice cream. My stomach? Then dry cereal, toast, crackers, pretzels, and chips.

  7. I usually lose my appetite when I have a cold but I drink a ridiculous amount of hot water with honey and lemon. Oil of oregano is also my go-to natural remedy. It tastes horrible but works. I mix 8-10 drops in 1-2 oz. of water and put it back, an orange juice chaser helps! Hope you feel better soon.

    • Thank you for reminding me – I’m pretty sure I have some oil of oregano at home. I once took too much of it and it took me 30 seconds to be able to breathe again, but it really does work!

  8. Pingback: Link Love: 3/1 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

