Weekly Plan 2/17 – 2/23 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 4)

Happy happy Monday.

weekly plan

I’m super happy that today is a day off for me, I love long weekends! I also have an extra short week this week as I’m off to Orlando on Thursday! I can’t wait – I’m so ready for some sun and warm weather!! 😀

Exercise

Monday 10k run
Abs
Pushups
5k – I felt underfueled so I cut my run short
Tuesday 8x600m speed
Abs
8x600m speed – total 13.6k
Wednesday Abs
Push ups
MASSAGE
Nothing, my massage therapist was sick, so I rested 😦
Thursday 11k run
Abs
MASSAGE – I rescheduled so rested
Friday 10k run
Abs
Push ups
10.5k – felt amazing
Saturday 10k run
Abs
Legs
10k run OUTSIDE!
Sunday 16k long run
Abs
Legs
16k run OUTSIDE

This week felt a million times better than my training last week. I ended up only missing one run (Thursday) and ran half distance on Monday, so I can’t be upset with that at all. In January I ran a total of 100km and I’m already at 91km as of Sunday, so I’m super pumped about that! I’m also thrilled that the weather has been nice enough to run outside, it’s so much easier to run outside than run on the treadmill. Dare I say I’m also somewhat enjoying speedwork? I know, it’s totally crazy, but I very much am 🙂

And now, let’s take a peek at what to expect this up coming week.

Monday 10k run
Abs
Pushups
Tuesday MASSAGE
Wednesday 6X800m
Thursday Off – flying to Jacksonville
Friday Off – driving to ORLANDO
Saturday 10k race
Sunday 21.1k race

I’m definitely still lacking in cross training and can see that my body could definitely benefit from some strength training to tone everything up a bit. When I was doing a ton of squats and lunges in the fall I noticed it in my knee a bit, so I’m not 100% sure what to introduce for cross training that I can do quickly with my longer runs, but will help with my core stability and keep me strong for my races.

I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfood Monday today 🙂

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

I’m so so pumped for the weekend! I feel super prepared for my runs. I’m definitely not in shape to PR at the 10k or half marathon, but I know I’ll be able to run them well and finish feeling strong. Moreso I’m excited to hangout with some of the best ladies I’ve ever met 😀

I’m not certain how much actual blogging I’ll be able to do – I want to hang out with people rather than hang out in front of my computer, but I’ll do my best to get a few posts up while I’m away. Even if I may not be blogging, I’ll most certainly be posting on Twitter and Instagram, so make sure you’re following me there since I’ll be taking a ton of pictures while I’m away.

Tell me: What was your best run last week? What are you looking forward to this week?

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

23 thoughts on “Weekly Plan 2/17 – 2/23 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 4)

  1. Hmm last week had to be my tempo run. It was nice to be outside in the broad day night. I am looking forward to a quasi spin class tomorrow & my long run on Saturday (oh and the weekend as usual)

  2. Wow – glad to see your enjoying it more this week. I’m a little daunted with what you’re doing, but you’ve trained for it. Enjoy the weekend, run well, have fun doing it. 🙂

  3. My best run was 13 miles around false creek and then around the seawall in Stanley Park…that was two weekends ago when it was cold and sunny in Vancouver! I then caught a cold and haven’t run since 😦 I will run 3 miles/5 km today.

    For cross-training, I highly recommend spinning. For a big running competition I was in 10 years ago, going to spin classes definitely helped me run faster and kept me injury-free. I plan on starting to go to spin classes once again in preparation for the Vancouver Marathon.

  4. Woo hoo! Enjoy Orlando – it should be a fabulous race. We’ll be down there again this August ourselves. Until then – we’ll have to live vicariously through your posts.

  5. This weekend is going to be so amazing, have fun and enjoy the last few days here leading up to when you go! Take lots of pics, you can also post when you get home!

    • My camera is charged and ready to go! And I’m planning on running with my iPhone for running pictures. I don’t normally take race pictures, but figured it would be worth it for Disney.
      I’m pretty sure we have WiFi in our hotel and I’ll schedule a few posts to go up – so I should be good!

  6. Pingback: Link Love: 2/22 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

