Weekly Plan: 2/10 – 2/16 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 3)

Another week, another Monday.

weekly plan feb 10-16

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Mine was much quieter than previous weekends: no movies, Costco runs or anything like that. Just a hair cut and some quality time with CBC and the Olympics. I love watching the Olympics so, so much!!

Exercise

Monday 10k run
Abs
Pushups
Off due to stress. Oops.
#lifehappens
Tuesday 12x400m speed
Abs
10k bike
Wednesday Abs
Push ups
10k run
Thursday 10k run
Abs
12x400m speed total of 8 miles
Friday 10k run
Abs
Push ups
Off – I was pretty tired from speed work
Saturday 10k run
Abs
Legs
Lazy – off
Sunday 13k long run
Abs
Legs
3k – I was having trouble breathing so I stopped early

Even given the rocky start to my week, I’m pretty happy I was able to get as many runs in as I did. I’m really pleased with how well my speedwork went. Since it’s snowy and I don’t have a track near me I ran them on the treadmill: 4 at 7.0; 4 and 7.1; 4 at 7.2 for a total of 8 miles and I felt strong throughout. I was originally going to run on Friday but I was feeling pretty beat, so I decided to rest and watch the Olympics instead. Saturday my right glute was bothering me, so I spent the day stretching it (and I may have watched all of Season 1 of The Mindy Project, maybe); it’s something that’s been tight for a while so I want to make sure I’m stretching and not pushing or injuring myself. I woke up ready to run on Sunday, but I was having breathing issues. Very occasionally my anxiety will pop up in a way so that I have issues breathing (similar to a panic attack) when running – this has happened at the end of two half marathons – so instead of forcing myself to run 13k I decided to be kind to myself and rest on Sunday and start up again today.

I also didn’t do a great job of cross training; I took nearly a week off from abs and arms, so it was back to it over the weekend! I know a strong core is super important to running, so I’m trying to do my best to keep my core strong.

And now, let’s take a peek at what to expect this up coming week.

Monday 10k run
Abs
Pushups
Tuesday 8x600m speed
Abs
Wednesday Abs
Push ups
MASSAGE
Thursday 11k run
Abs
Friday 10k run
Abs
Push ups
Saturday 10k run
Abs
Sunday 16k long run
Abs

Yikes! I’m already up to a 16k long run – jeepers!

But, I have plans to meet a girl friend for fondue on Sunday evening, so that’ll be just about perfect 🙂

This program definitely is a lot of running, and I know I haven’t quite followed it 100% so far, but I’m feeling really, really good about it. I have a lot more posts coming up all about the methodology and kinds of training.

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

I’m also linking up with Amanda, Krysten and Ericka for #bestfood Monday today 🙂

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

Tell me: What are you looking forward to this week?

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

4 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 2/10 – 2/16 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 3)

  1. Pingback: Link Love: 2/15 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

