North Coast Naturals {Giveaway} (Closed)

Congratulations to Crystal for winning the prize pack!!

***

Whew.

It sure has taken me far too long to get this post all typed up and organized for you.

First things first – I’m so pumped to be working with North Coast Naturals! You may have seen a picture of an awesome shipment I received from them in early January. I was sent the following items free of charge to review for y’all: Brown Rice Protein, Hemp Protein, Fermented L-Glutamine and Daily Greens. But wait! That’s not even the best part! North Coast Naturals is also going to be giving away three of their awesome products to a Cowgirl Runs reader (you’ll receive  L-GlutamineDaily Greens, and Brown Rice Protein).

photo (19)

Before we get to the super fun giveaway, I have two more amazing recipes to share with you.

photo (62)

Almond Cashew Cherry Granola Bars

Whew! Even the name is a mouthful, but I assure you these taste better in your mouth than the name <– awkward. Moving on….

These are a twist on the Almond Butter Protein Berry Bars I made back in January.

photo (61)

  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cashew butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 hemp seeds
  • 1/4 cup brown rice protein*
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • vanilla extract (I never measure)
  • cinnamon (I never measure)
  • 2 cups rolled oats

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper (the bars will stick, so you’ll want to do this – plus it makes it way easier to lift out the bars once they’re done). Microwave the coconut oil (if solid) and honey to make them pourable and easier for measuring. Add the first three ingredients to the bowl followed by the dry ingredients. (Tip: I add the coconut oil first since some oil will remain in the measuring cup making it easier to pour out the honey and nut butters). Mix together, press into the pan. Cook for 20 minutes until edges start to brown. Enjoy!!

photo (64)

Chocolate Banana Cranberry “Muffins”

Again, I need to thank Becky for the inspiration for this recipe. I saw her recipe for Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Muffins and made a few tweaks to come up with these guys.

photo (60)

Makes 12 muffins

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I used Dark Chocolate Cherry Monkey Butter)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup hemp seeds
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup hemp protein*
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (or dried fruit of your choice!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and place 12 muffin liners in muffin pan. In a large bowl, mash bananas with peanut butter. Stir in cinnamon and oatmeal and then gently mix in dried cranberries. (Tip: I add the coconut oil first since some oil will remain in the measuring cup making it easier to pour out the honey and nut butters). Bake for 20 minutes, until tops are slightly browned. I use silicon muffin liners, so I waited about 10 minutes before I removed the muffins from the liners.

photo (63)

Review Stuff

I was so, so pleased with the quality of the products sent to me by North Coast Naturals. I started using the L-Gluatmine right away after my workouts.

Many studies suggest it helps with recovery, alleviating physical/mental stress, joint pain, and mental fitness. It has also been found to have a significant effect on the body’s rate of tissue repair. Glutamine can help to reduce depression, anxiety, irritability, moodiness, insomnia, and distress due to short bowel syndrome.

(source)

The protein powders were amazing to work with. They didn’t impart any weird or chalky flavour into the granola bars of smoothies I tried with them and were so easy to mix and blend. As someone who can be wary of new protein powders, I was very impressed with the taste and quality.

As for the daily greens, I’ve been adding it to water (yup, just water) in the mornings to me going in the morning. I’ve tried other brands of “green” that suggest you mix with water and I’ve ended up mixing with juice and just barely been able to choke it down. Not so with these. I’m not exactly sure how it’s different, but I found it mixed really well with the water and the taste was awesome. Hooray!

Giveaway

Okey dokey friends, now it’s your turn! North Coast Naturals will provide one reader (Canada only – sorry International folks!) with the following products  L-GlutamineDaily Greens, and Brown Rice Protein.

Here’s how you enter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
<– since I’m currently hosted with WP I can’t install the fancy widget but you can click this link, or go to the giveaway tab on my FB page to enter (you get an entry for liking the page, so you totally should!) (sorry to have to make it two steps! I’ll get a big girl blog soon!)

* the brown rice protein and hemp protein were provided to be free of charge by North Coast Naturals in exchange for my honest review and opinions of the products.

Go forth and enter! 🙂

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

13 thoughts on “North Coast Naturals {Giveaway} (Closed)

  1. I am so happy I found you! I thought you had just stopped blogging. I have some catch-up to do.
    Also. Kicked off healthy living on January 20th. Still trying to integrate exercise into the schedule. But I’ve been doing great with modified eating so far. This would be awesome to help with that! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Healthy Oatmeal Cookies and Granola Bars | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

