Weekly Plan: 2/3-2/9 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 2)

Alrighty, as usual, let’s take a peek at how last week went, running-wise.

weekly plan feb 3-9

Exercise

Monday Abs
Push ups
Legs
Abs
Push ups
Tuesday Abs
Push ups
Legs
Abs
Pushups
Wednesday Abs
Push ups
Legs
MASSAGE
MASSAGE – killed it! 🙂
Thursday 10k run
Abs
Legs
10k – treadmill
Abs
Friday 10k run
Abs
Push ups
Legs
10k – treadmill. I really just wanted a beer
Saturday 10k run
Abs
Legs
Woke up early and cleaned instead of running
Sunday 13k long run
Abs
Legs
13k – treadmill
Abs
Push ups

It was a little weird to take 3 days off in a row from running, but I really wanted to follow my plan, so I went with it. The balance of taking 3 days off, was running 4 days in a row at the end of the week. I decided to clean instead of running on Saturday, I would have liked to have done both, but it didn’t quite workout. A piece of advice: don’t go to Costco the day before the Super Bowl!

In previous training programs I haven’t run more than 3 days in a row, so the 6 in a row called for by my new plan will be a bit of a shock at first, I’m sure. (I do have a post coming your way about why I decided to go with this plan, look for it later this week!).

And now, let’s take a peek at what to expect this up coming week.

Monday 10k run
Abs
Pushups
Tuesday 12x400m speed
Abs
Wednesday Abs
Push ups
Thursday 10k run
Abs
Friday 10k run
Abs
Push ups
Saturday 10k run
Abs
Sunday 13k long run
Abs

To be honest, I’m a bit nervous about the speedwork on Tuesday. I haven’t really done much, speedwork for the past few months, so I’m going to try for 12 reps, but if I have to decrease it, I have no problem doing so. Wednesday as a rest day, will be really really awesome! 🙂

Goals

At the beginning of January I set some goals, and after thinking about it, I don’t really think I’m going to be setting monthly goals for the next while.

Since I’m pretty certain most of my goals will be the same, you can just assume the following:

  1. Run. Follow my training plan. Listen to my body. Don’t get injured. I’m also tracking my mileage for Run This Year. My goal is 2014km in 2014 (heh) and so far I’m at 100km. Definitely a bit behind the 168km/month, but with the ultra training plan, I’m pretty certain I’ll make it up quickly. (I’ll be recapping my monthly mileage in my weekly posts for anyone interested).
  2. Eat. Healthy foods. Yes, I want to lose the Christmas weight I put on. No, I won’t beat myself up over it.
  3. Money. Don’t buy shit you don’t need. Yes, I know it’s cute. No, you don’t need it. I have a significant expense coming up at the beginning of March and, to be honest, it’s stressing me out a bit. Once that it behind me, I know it’ll be smooth sailing (and I should receive my bonus sometime in March as well), but I’ll be a bit on edge about that until then. I have a spreadsheet with my balances and current goals that I update a few times a month. Right now I’m on track for the end of June, but I also have some contract work coming my way over the summer (lots, actually!) and I’m hoping for a contract starting in May as well – that would really help things out! I’m saying a prayer and crossing my fingers for that one.
  4. Keep being awesome. Duh.

I don’t necessarily feel a need to continue recapping the same four goals month after month, so you can just assume these are my goals unless I mention otherwise 🙂

As for how January went? Well……

  1. Yup. I ran. I make it 100km in January, which was a bit step forward from the 22km I ran in December.
  2. I did not do yoga. Not once. I’m having a bit of a mental block when it comes to returning to yoga. See, I did yoga a lot last year to help me mentally and emotionally and I’m just not sure I’m ready to get back on my mat. I know I should it’s just hard some days.
  3. If doing abs and push ups nearly every day counts as cross training, then yes, I cross trained. I’m going to count this as a win.
  4. Meal plan. I think I did pretty well here. I made some new recipes and felt like I was quite healthy lunch and dinner-wise.
  5. I also did okay budgeting. Yes, I did purchase some items, but I certainly didn’t go overboard. I’d like to reduce my grocery budget in February as well as not spend too terribly much when I’m in Orlando.

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

I’m also linking up with Amanda for #bestfoot weekly link up.

Tell me: What’s your plan for the week? Do you like to set monthly goals?

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

10 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 2/3-2/9 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 2)

  1. I am starting speed work this week too! I am going inside to a rink because our roads/paths are too slippery and snowy. I hate pushups. I’ve done enough in the last week to last me for a lifetime. Keep being awesome 🙂

  2. YAY for speedwork! I love how many goals you make for yourself on a monthly basis. It’s a great way to check in and stay on track. This week I have an unexpected knee injury so my goal is to relax and fully let it heel while shifting my focus to my core and arms 🙂

Leave a Reply

