No Spend – January Wrap Up

With January coming to an end, I figured it was time to update y’all on how my not spending went.

Spoiler: okay. Ish.

See ya later debt

Since my intention was to not spend money on unnecessary things and to cut back my grocery budget (I’m doing okay grocery-wise…..), I’ve been keeping track of my non-necessary spending to report back at the end of the month to keep my accountable in my challenge.

You’ve probably seen quite a few of these items in my Treat Yourself Tuesday posts, but I wanted to share them here as well.

Just this past week I figured out how to read books for free so no more buying books for me. Wahoo!

January 3

(Ha! the day I wrote the original post!)

I purchased two books that were on-sale from Kobo for 70% off.

witches of east end

Witches of East End for $2.99. Sometimes I like to fill my brain with fluff, this seemed like a good book to do just that. I’d read most of the Blue Bloods series by Melissa de la Cruz, and I’m pretty sure this was just made into a TV show, so I figured it was worth a shot.

the art of racing in the rain

The Art of Racing in the Rain for $4.99. Again, another book I’d heard great things about and that’s been on my list for a while. Again, at 70% off I figured these two books would likely keep me going through the end of January (and I’d better have a library card by then!)

January 4

mason tea

Mason jar travel tea mug from David’s Tea because how could I not?! Seriously. How amazing is it?! And, it’s huge, it holds nearly 750mL (that’s 25oz) it’ll be perfect for coffee and tea on the couch or for weekends. I’m in lurve.

January 6

photo (97)

photo (95)

These are from my Treat Yourself Tuesday post earlier this month, and yes, I did spend money on them. Three carafes and five wine selves to be exact. No, it wasn’t in the budget, but I’m so happy with how much better organized my closet is, I’d say it was worth it!

photo (100)

January 10

wild

I’ve heard interesting reviews of this book, and I do like the Eat, Pray, Love kind of books, which I think this is similar to, so when it was 45% off through Kobo, I figured I’d buy it and add it to my reading list 🙂

January 14

Frozen-UK-Soundtrack-Cover-disney-frozen-36003845-1280-1280

I just loved this movie so much and I loved the songs, I had to buy the soundtrack. I know, I know, 30 going on 8. I’m okay with it 🙂

January 16

w-pink_product

New shoes 🙂

96327_viktor__rolf_flowerbomb

The best perfume EVAH!

January 25

cgr-4nc_xlg

A griddler!

Wishlist

I also thought it would be a neat idea to track items I come across and would like to buy between now and mid-May. While I obviously won’t be able to buy all of them, I think it’ll be interesting to see if in 4 months it’s still something I would like.

spiralizer

I’ve been thinking about a spiralizer for a while, and at $31.99 is definitely something I can afford, but now it’s certainly more of a want than a need, so on the list it goes!

kai-6.5-noodle-soup-bowl

These Kai Noodle Soup Bowls from Crate and Barrel are adorable and not overly expensive, but again, they’re more of a want than a need, so again, on the list they go! Maybe I need to start eating Asian food every day for dinner, then they’d be a “need”, right?! 🙂

OWLS

How cute are these?! They’re from West Elm and oh my gosh I love them. If anyone would like to purchase a few for me (say, the teal and silver) and ship ’em my way, that would be super 😛

product_01

Nikon D610 (this is the replacement of the Nikon D600). I’ve been considering a DSLR camera for a while. I’m a pretty decent photographer, but have been relying on my iPhone for, oh 99% of the pictures on my blog and I’d like to start showing some better images, and I really do enjoy taking pictures. This (and the requisite lenses) is something that’s going to have to wait until the summer. Ideally, I’d like to purchase this before going to SeaWheeze in August, as Vancouver is always gorgeous and I went to Van Dusen Gardens last year, took a bunch of pictures, and then lost them all. I’d love to go back and retake some of the images.

cell-phone-lenses-2738.0000001385428632

While I’m waiting to save money for the fancy camera above, I’m seriously considering picking up these cell phone lenses from Photojojo. At $99 (plus only $10 in shipping) they really aren’t that expensive, and it would be really neat to add some pop to my photos, since, oh 99.9% of all images on here are taken with my iPhone.

Mindset

Since declaring this, my mindset around money has changed quite a bit. I’ll see something, say nail polish, that I’d normally buy, now I look at it and think “eh, I don’t really need it” and carry on with my day. I don’t feel like I’m missing out, or like I’m not “letting” myself buy it, I’m just making a choice not to.

This upcoming month I have a few items I’ll be spending money on. First up is a haircut and colour. I last had my hair coloured in September, and cut in November, so it’s certainly time! The second is my trip to Orlando. I’ve set a budget for myself as I plan on doing a tiny (seriously, tiny) bit of shopping while I’m there. It just wouldn’t be any fun to go an not spend money.

Tell me: What’s the best thing you bought this month? What items are currently on your wishlist?

The griddler is definitely my favourite!!

***

More ways to connect with Ange:
Facebook --> Cowgirl Runs
Twitter --> @cowgirlruns
Instagram --> cowgirlruns
Bloglovin --> cowgirlruns

14 thoughts on “No Spend – January Wrap Up

  1. Before you read The Art of Racing in the Rain, buy a HUGE box of tissues and attach it to the book. I’m man enough to admit that I cried. It’s a great book and as sad as it is, the ending is quite beautiful!

  2. Hmmm I have to think about what I bought this month …. I have been trying to save too. No more mindless saving for me 🙂 Glad you’re a Nikon gal. We use Canon at work but I much prefer Nikon.

  3. You must tell me about the books for free thing, I seriously need to know!

    I’ve been pretty decent with my spending this month, i think my most extravagant thing was the rainbow loom and the millions of colors i bought but i’m enjoying playing with it while i watch tv (must keep my hands busy), i also bought some cute valentine mugs from Target as i am replacing all of my old ones. I am going to have it look at investing in a new camera.. i dropped mine 😦

  4. that’s a lot of wine…can I come over?

    Best thing I bought…tie between restocking my Vega One and getting the PC low trainers. I’m also buying a new phone this week – thank goodness!! Mine is really on the fritz.

    On my wishlist: Newton Distance U, small diamond stud earrings for my 3rd hole and a new wallet.

  5. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud: 1/30 | Cowgirl Runs

  6. Pingback: No Spend Challenge | Cowgirl Runs

  7. Pingback: Weekly Plan: 2/3-2/9 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 2) | Cowgirl Runs

  8. Pingback: Healthy Oatmeal Cookies and Granola Bars | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

