Weekly Plan: 1/27-2/2 (Ultra Training Week 1)

Happy Monday, my friends!!

I hope your day is off to a better start than mine, I woke up 40 minutes before I had to be at work. Oops! But, I did have a great sleep 🙂

WeeklyPlan1_thumb.png

Exercise

First let’s look at my plan, and how it played out, from last week:

Monday Abs
Push ups
Legs
7 min workout
Abs
Push ups
Legs
Tuesday 6k run
Abs
Legs
7 min workout
6k run
Abs
Legs
Wednesday 10k steady
Abs
Push ups
Legs
7 min workout
Nothing
Thursday 10k steady
Abs
Legs
7 min workout
Nothing again.
Friday Abs
Push ups
Legs
7 min workout
3k run. It was more of a slog than a run.
Saturday 10k steady
Abs
Legs
7 min workout
10k steady
Abs
Legs
Push ups
Sunday 18k long run
Abs
Legs
7 min workout
12k long run
Abs

I felt pretty good at the beginning of the week, but come Thursday/Friday I was exhausted. I reasoned I’d feel better on Friday if I went for a run and I set out with no particular pace or distance in mind, but my legs felt like they were moving through sand. Crawling into bed by 9pm on Friday night was probably a good idea.

Since I really haven’t followed my Glass Slipper Training plan since the end of November, and my ultra training plan starts this week, I’ve decided I’ll pick up the advanced section of the ultra plan (because it has speed work which will help me in Disney) starting this week. I plan on writing more about why I’m using the Hanson’s method and I’ll go into more detail about the different kinds of training once I get more into the program.

The Hanson’s method I’m following is designed for a marathon (42.2km) and my ultra is 50k. Since this is 20% longer, I’m also going to be increasing some of the runs by 20%, but again, I’ll get into the specifics of this in a dedicated post.

I also plan on linking my weekly plan posts to my training page so you can reference a week and see how my training has gone.

And now the plan for this week:

Monday Abs
Push ups
Legs
Tuesday Abs
Legs
Wednesday Abs
Legs
Push upsMASSAGE – YAY!!
Thursday 10k run
Abs
Legs
Friday 10k run
Abs
Push ups
Legs
Saturday 10k run
Abs
Legs
Sunday 13k long run
Abs
Legs

Tell me: Instead of just recapping my workouts (like the first table) would you be interested in a more in-depth recap of my weekly training?

Bestfoot This Week Link Up[4]

Since my food tends to be pretty boring (although I would like to do a post of food, training, and me) it seems kind of silly to type: green smoothie, salad, whatever is in my freezer, week after week. For now, just assume that’s what I’m eating unless I state otherwise 🙂

17 thoughts on “Weekly Plan: 1/27-2/2 (Ultra Training Week 1)

  1. I always feel tired by Thursday. Trying to fit it all in can be tiring in itself. I think we’re doing the opposite training plan. I am decreasing my mileage (Run Less, Run faster) while it looks like you are amping up yours. Fun to see what other runners are doing.

    • I’ve had a few friends use the Hanson’s method and had massive PR’s, so I’m giving it a shot. It’s ridiculously intense, but after using the Running Room method for a number of years I thought it was time to swtich it up. I’m working on a ridiculously looooong post about this method, so that’ll be coming next week.

  2. I haven’t heard of the Hanson plan before but I’m curious. For all of my ultras I’ve never run longer than 42.2k in training and it hasn’t been a problem. I think back-to-back runs and getting your legs used to running tired is more important that flat-out distance. Excited to follow along and see how it goes! I need to do a bit of tweaking to my training plan for my May ultra marathon…

  3. It looks like your getting in a lot of great mileage. I’d love to know more about the Hanson’s training method as I keep reading about it. Keep up the great work!

  4. Pingback: Link Love: 2/1 | Cowgirl Runs

  5. Pingback: Weekly Plan: 2/3-2/9 (Ultra Marathon Training Week 2) | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

