recipe Home Made Granola Bars

With my health nearly back to normal (I’m still suffering from a stuffy nose in the mornings) I’ve started back to running this week. Hooray!

I ran 10k on Monday and 6.5k on Wednesday and it really feels great to be back at it! During my run on Wednesday I noticed I was pretty low on energy toward the end of the run and realized I haven’t been all that great at eating whole grains (or any grains) during the day.

If you look at my weekly plan posts, you’ll notice I eat fruit & veggies for breakfast, salad for lunch, and protein and veggies for dinner. Very few (if any) grains.

Thankfully, I had just looked at Becky’s awesome recipe for her granola bars and I knew I needed to try my hand at them with my own twist!

These bars are chewy and full of flavour, and none of that corn syrup (among other things) store-bought granola bars are filled with!

Almond Butter Protein Berry Bars

photo (25)

  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 6 scoops fermented L-glutamine*
  • 1/4 cup brown rice protein*
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • vanilla extract (I never measure)
  • cinnamon (I never measure)
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • frozen berries (again, I didn’t measure)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper (the bars will stick, so you’ll want to do this – plus it makes it way easier to lift out the bars once they’re done). Microwave the coconut oil (if solid) and honey to make them pourable and easier for measuring. Add the first three ingredients to the bowl followed by the dry ingredients. Mix together, press into the pan and top with the frozen fruit. Cook for 20 minutes until edges start to brown. Enjoy!!

Coffee, Chocolate, Peanut Butter Bars

photo (24)

  • 1 cup peanut butter (I used creamy)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup hemp protein*
  • 2 cups Redline Oats (this oat mix contains rolled oats, whey protein, walnuts, chocolate chips and instant coffee)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper (the bars will stick, so you’ll want to do this – plus it makes it way easier to lift out the bars once they’re done). Microwave the coconut oil (if solid) and honey to make them pourable and easier for measuring. Add the first three ingredients to the bowl followed by the oats and hemp protein. Mix together and press into the pan. Cook for 20 minutes, let cook and enjoy!

* the Fermented L-Glutamine, brown rice protein and hemp protein were provided to be free of charge by North Coast Naturals in exchange for my honest review and opinions of the products. I have a few more recipes coming your way and a giveaway (Canada only) of some products for you!

These recipes are really, really easy to throw together. I was able to whip them up in less than 10 minutes – it takes them longer to cool than to cook!

Tell me: Are you a granola bar fan? What add-ins would you include in your granola bar?

2 thoughts on “recipe Home Made Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Link Love: 1/18 | Cowgirl Runs

  2. Pingback: North Coast Naturals {Giveaway} | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

