[recipe] Spinach, Bacon and Sweet Potato Salad

As promised, here’s the recipe that’s been making my lunches this week somewhat more kick-ass than usual.

cowgirl cooks

I found this recipe in my much-loved (already) Runner’s World Cookbook, but did make a few modifications to the recipe as well.

Spinach, Bacon and Sweet Potato Salad

(adapted from Runner’s World Cookbook)

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into bite size pieces
  • 4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and ground black pepper
  • 2 slices thick cut bacon (I used 4 because that’s what I had)
  • 1 red bell pepper cored and chopped (totally forgot to include this)
  • 1 small red onion, halved and thinly sliced (I dislike red onions, so I used white)
  • 1 tablespoon peeled and minced fresh ginger (I used store-bought salad dressing so this was omitted)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin (I used store-bought salad dressing so this was omitted)
  • Juice from 1 orange (I used store-bought salad dressing so this was omitted)
  • 1 pound fresh spinach

I didn’t bother peeling the sweet potatoes before roasting them – I scrubbed them well and don’t mind the peel so much, so I took the lazy route and cut them up and roasted them at 400 for 30 minutes.

photo (3)

While the potatoes were roasting I cooked up four slices of bacon and hardboiled four eggs (one of my tweaks to the recipe).

photo

photo (98)

After the bacon was cooked, I drained off the fat (but didn’t wipe the pan) and added 1 yellow onion and one container of sliced cremini mushrooms (tweak #2) and cooked those until slightly softened.

photo (1)

To assemble for work, I put the spinach and egg in one container, the sweet potatoes, mushrooms and onions in a second container, and the dressing in a third.

photo (2)

Here’s what the three containers look like when I’m getting ready to eat.

photo (6)

And here’s what it looks like all assembled.

photo (7)

Runner’s World has the calorie count, but since I don’t count calories, I don’t much care 🙂

Tell me: What kind of lunches do you take to work?

12 thoughts on “[recipe] Spinach, Bacon and Sweet Potato Salad

  1. As much as you talk about sweet potatoes, I sometimes feel like I should try them again. And then I worry that I’ll just waste sweet potatoes.

    Also, mushrooms are gross. Ew.

  2. Mostly it is leftovers, i over did it with the salad this summer so I am hoping a winter of leftovers will cure it. This week I made soup to eat, last week it was a rice dish. Today because I am lazy it is cheesy rice. Next week possibly wraps although i have some sweet potatoes i have been planning on making gnocci with.

Leave a Reply

