Weekly Plan: 1/6-1/12

Well, geeze, it sure has been a long time since I’ve done one of these, hasn’t it?

Weekly Plan (1)

Since I plan on being healthy and getting back into running, meal planning and reducing my grocery budget, I might as well get right to it, huh?

Exercise

Monday 14km run (to make up missing my run on January 1)
Greatist WOD
Tuesday Off
Wednesday 10km run
Greatist WOD
Yin Yoga
Thursday 11km run
Friday Greatist WOD
Saturday 8km run
Yoga Sculpt
Sunday 13km run

I’ve lucked out a bit in that this is a rest week from what was supposed to be hardcore training (week 10 per my training plan) so I’m confident I’ll be able to complete my runs as I did run 10km without any issue on December 30, I’ll just need to pay close attention to my intensity and make sure I’m getting enough rest. I’ve also taken a break from my Vega supplements, and I’ll be introducing those as I would like to minimize muscle soreness when recovering from my runs.

Breakfast

After taking a 2 week break from my smoothies, I’m pretty pumped to be consuming them on a daily basis. My break consisted of a lot of cinnamon buns and toast with PB. Oh, hello carbs.

I really like starting my day off with a green smoothie as I know I’m giving my body the nutrients it craves right off the bat (how’s that for some HLB talk?!). Seeing as I had a day or two where I consumed, oh, one serving of fruits and veggies, I’ll be super happy to up the fruits and veggies.

Lunch

One big reason I purchased the Runner’s World Cookbook was because I’m always lacking in lunch ideas. That’s probably why for the past few months I’ve been living off baked sweet potatoes and crockpot cream cheese chicken chili. It’s time to change things up a bit!

This week I’ll be eating Spinach, Bacon and Sweet Potato Salad (recipe to come later this week!). Since I already have a love affair with sweet potatoes (and who doesn’t love bacon?!) this seems like a great lunch for me.

Snacks

After my crazy Costco run, I’m stocked on trail mix, and I’ll be pairing it with apples, bananas, and greek yogurt for fuel.

Dinners

I currently have a spinach and peanut curry in my fridge that I’ll pair with naan and coconut rice one evening for dinner (possibly on a weekend as I might be spinached out after having it twice a day for breakfast and lunch) and I’ve been loving wraps with chicken and salad, with extra salad on the side! I also have some frozen salmon and a butternut squash.

I never quite know how much energy I’ll have after work, so I do like to play dinner by ear sometimes and I know I’ll end up cooking for friends, or going out, once a week or so as well, so I try not to plan my dinners too closely – I just make sure I have sufficient food in my fridge/freezer and go from there.

Tell me: Do you have a plan for the upcoming week?

One thought on “Weekly Plan: 1/6-1/12

  1. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud Thursday: 1/9 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

