2014 Goals

Since I started doing monthly goals again back in October, I thought I should probably come up with some annual goals as well. I’m not a big fan of setting myself up for failure, but I do want to challenge myself in 2014.

Grow in My Job

I feel super blessed to have the job I have. I want to do more conscious growth in my career in 2014, so this will be evaluating the projects I take on and ensuring that I’m learning and growing while pursuing them. I also want to continue to do contract work by marking exams and I’d also like to get back into teaching as this will help with my personal development and also help with my goal of paying off debt!

Debt Free 2014

Right now I’m on track to have all my debt paid off by June 2014. I know when I first set up my goal it was April, but unfortunately, things come up (sometimes it’s a need, sometimes it’s a pesky want) and it got a little pushed back. So my goal is to keep it on scheduled to June 2014. Taking on contract work will speed up that date a bit as well.

In order to keep on track, I’m also setting a really big challenge for myself: no spending until my birthday in May. Yup. That’s a big one. Obviously items like groceries and the like will be purchased, but anything beyond the scope of a necessity won’t be purchased. I’m hoping this will help to save me a few hundred dollars each month that I can put toward paying off my debt. I’ll probably dedicate a more detailed post to this in the coming weeks, but for now, this is my plan.

To be completely honest, I kind of fell off the budget train in December. With Christmas shopping and stocking up on food (okay, okay, and beer) for visitors, I tracked my spending, but didn’t do a great job of staying within my budget amounts. I do plan to hop back on that train right away!

Run and Take a Break

Right now my running schedule is as follows:

  • February 2014: Glass Slipper Challenge
  • May 2014: 50k Ultra
  • August 2014: SeaWheeze Half

Aside from taking nearly 3 weeks off due to being ill this fall, I will have been training for something for nearly 14 consecutive months (I started training for SeaWheeze 2013 in June 2013) so I think a break will be needed.

I toyed with the idea of a fall marathon, but I’m not ready to commit to anything at this point, so I’m going to run these three races and then see how I feel. I have some other fitness goals (separate post coming!) that I’d also like to accomplish, so maybe I’ll take a bit of a break to focus on those.

Overall: keep being awesome

Tell me: Do you set goals for the upcoming year? If so, what are some of your goals?

5 thoughts on “2014 Goals

  1. Oo I like the financial goal – its gonna be tough, but I may add that to my goals, too.
    Big one for me is to not be afraid of being my TRUE self, meaning saying how I feel and not saying :sorry: so much.
    Happy (early) new year!

    • 2013 was definitely my year to work on being my true self – it’s hard at times – but I’m MUCH happier being me and not what I think others want me to be.

      Happy (early) 2014 to you as well!

  2. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud Thursday: 1/2 | Cowgirl Runs

  3. Pingback: Link Love: 1/4 | Cowgirl Runs

  4. Pingback: January Goals | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

