“Eating healthy through the holidays”, or I’m rolling my eyes again

Be honest, how many times have you found a “How to eat healthy during the holidays” or “How not to gain weight during the holidays” in your feed over the past few months?

About two dozen times I’m guessing. I’m pretty sure that’s how many I’ve seen.

Now, how many times did you roll your eyes while reading those posts?

For me, it’s about every time I read one of those headlines – and for me – I just click past.

See, those eat before you go, fill up on veggies, don’t drink booze, make sure you exercise every days, etc etc tips just don’t work for me.

As much as I love candy and treats (I’m not going to disclose how much junk I’ve enjoyed over the past few weeks) I very rarely gain weight over the holidays. Maybe I’m lucky, or maybe because I don’t associate eating a treat with shame, I don’t see a problem with it.

To me, I feel those posts are very shame inducing.

If I eat junk and don’t follow the rules for eating healthy during the holidays, I messed up and am a bad person.

Yeah, that just doesn’t work for me.

Sorry, not sorry.

Here’s the thing, I feel if you’re living a balanced and healthy lifestyle (thanks for the awesome post, Cori!) then it shouldn’t matter if you indulge during the holidays. I’d much rather enjoy my food and drink and time with friends than worry about whether or not I should have that third cookie (the answer is yes, by the way).

I don’t believe the “holiday season” should be put in a box separate from the rest of the year. Yes, there are parties and treats and booze available, but I think the focus should be on the whole year, not just a select number of weeks. This thinking leads to the “I will lose xx pounds” New Years Resolutions which are bound to fail and then when December rolls around and you remember your failed resolution it induces feelings of shame.

Throughout the year I have periods of time where I must have sugar after dinner and times where I really want an apple. I have times where I run more and times where I run less; times where I drink more or drink less. I don’t feel the holidays should be exclusive of the rest of the year. If I’m able to show balance and love my body for 11 months of the year, I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing for the twelfth month, no matter what blog posts tell me I should be doing.

What we eat, how we feel when we eat and thinking about food is so much more than just food. I think it’s really important that we remember this – especially since I feel bombarded with messages that tell me I’m not good enough over the holidays.

My response to that?

Fuck it.

(Sorry not sorry for language).

My dinner on Saturday was the following: steak topped with a cream sauce, 1/4 loaf of french bread with cheese, creamed cauliflower, carrots cooked in butter, toffee and 2 (shared) bottles of wine. And it was amazing and I refuse to feel badly about it. I enjoyed the food and I enjoyed the company. That matters far more to me than some stupid calorie count.

Tell me: How do you manage the “how to eat better” messages during the holidays? Do they piss you off as much as they do me?

9 thoughts on ““Eating healthy through the holidays”, or I’m rolling my eyes again

  1. How many times did I roll my eyes??? Maybe the question I should be answering is “How quickly did I delete the email when I saw the topic?” LOL. (quickly, in case you’re wondering)

    For me “Shame” isn’t the issue with food. If I want fries with my burger instead of a salad, I’m going to have fries with my burger. Especially Wendy’s fries because…well, just because. YUM.

    With the REALLY DIFFICULT time I have keeping my weight under control (let alone, losing weight) I have to be mindful about what I’m eating. In a lot of aspects of my life I go by the 80/20 rule. At work I make a general plan for the 80% and then improvise for the 20% who don’t fall into the norm. So my brain functions well on that 80/20 thing. Food is no different. I eat VERY healthy 80% (probably more) of the time so that when I want those fries (or the peanut butter cup or booze or whatever) I can have it and I feel no guilt!

  2. Yes! Especially those housewifey type magazines that have headlines like HOLIDAY DIET PLAN, right next to a photo of peppermint mocha cheesecake on the cover. How many of these people that follow these articles actually go out and exercise over the holidays?

    Don’t eat a whole cheesecake. That’s my plan.

  3. Pingback: Link Love: 12/22 | Cowgirl Runs

  4. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud Thursday: 12/26 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

