Treat Yourself Tuesday: 12/10

TreatYourselfTuesdayBadge_thumb.jpg

This post was originally going to be about how I saved a ton of money on some killer heels, but instead, some jack-hole got his grubby paws on my credit card number and decided to do some shopping at Best Buy and Sears (who the hell shops at Sears anymore? Seriously?!) so this weekend I had no credit card.

None.

Zilch.

Zero.

My original plan was to buy groceries (uh, because I hadn’t bought any in two weeks), pick up Christmas decorations because my house was looking a bit grinchy, and address Christmas cards.

Instead, being (mostly) money-less, I had a much quieter weekend, and I treated myself with what I already had.

As frustrating as it was to be without a credit card (especially since the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette was available at Sephora starting Friday) it was also a great reminder that I don’t always need to buy something in order to treat myself. (Novel concept, hey?).

(My credit card company was kind enough to express ship a card to me with no extra charge so I wouldn’t have to wait the 7-10 days for a new one to arrive – I didn’t even have to pitch a fit to have that happen).

Friday evening I painted my nails while watching Love Actually. This was only the first time watching it this season, and I’m sure I’ll end up watching it at least once more over the holidays.

photo (78)

Never mind that my fingers are now chipped all to heck and I’m too lazy to actually take the polish off; it did look pretty for roughly 24 hours.

Saturday I went for lunch with a friend and had a super awesome day just hanging out and chatting. The previous two weekends were so hectic and stressful, it was really nice to be able to visit and have an enjoyable weekend.

Sunday I set up my tree and hauled out some decorations out of storage to give my place a bit more of a festive look.

photo (81)

The tree is from Restoration Hardware, it’s part of the Starlit Collection. They also have wreaths and strings of lights. I’m thinking about maybe buying a wreath or two – but only if I can figure out how to hang them from my windows.

It should surprise no one that I decorated my tree with Starbucks mugs and pink balls, and a jingle bell garland. I love it.

It was also Merlin’s second birthday so we spent some time cuddling on the couch before I decided to be productive.

photo (79)

I made the decision to renew my lease at the end of January, so I figured if I’m saying in my condo for a second year, I should probably get around to putting some stuff on the walls. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more artwork on Boxing Day as my walls are looking quite bare at this point.

photo (80)

I’ve had this since May and finally got around to putting it on my wall. There’s something about using a drill that makes me feel like a total badass!

I also baked some Christmas Crack and have some tweaks to make before making another batch. I was happy to eat the cast-offs!

Tell me: How have you treated yourself this week?

3 thoughts on “Treat Yourself Tuesday: 12/10

  1. I need to treat myself to a nail polish as well. I can’t get over glittery polishes for the holidays. Also, this is my first time here and I love your background on this site!

  2. I had a totally lazy day on Sunday, I read and knitted and didn’t do much else. I’ll need to do stuff this week to make up for it but I needed the ‘do-nothing’ time. Other than that more nail varnish and a new book!

  3. Such great treats for not having a credit card. I’m sure my CC would overnight a card to me (maybe get it to me within the hour) because of how much money I spend 😉 Way to find free ways to enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

