November Goals

photo (62)

Now that my October goals are all wrapped up, it’s time to think about November, and what I hope to accomplish.

1. Download the trial of You Need a Budget (YNAB) and use it for November

My aunt left a comment on my Facebook page raving about YNAB and how it’s helped her for the past six years, so I figured it can’t hurt to give a free trial a shot, right?!

ynab

I think my biggest issue is impulsiveness (people who know me will likely not be surprised by this!) and losing sight of the big picture. When I check my Google doc for my spending, I can see that I can or can’t afford [insert item here] but when I fail to do that, I can easily rationalize a purchase.

So, in addition to using YNAB, I’ll also start keeping a closer eye on my budget (by checking in more than just weekly).

2. Set a budget for Christmas shopping AND complete by November 30

This means I actually need to start Christmas shopping, but last year I was running around on December 22 buying presents before heading out of town. Ick. That was not a fun trip to the mall.

This year I want to be organized, set a budget per person and get it all done early!

Stress? GONE!

3. Suck it up and run outside

I’m already feeling wimpy about the colder weather, and it’s truly not even that cold yet! I know there are going to be times where I have to run on the treadmill, so I want to focus on running outside so long as it is safe to do so.

4. Cross train!

I know cross training will increase my running ability, but I don’t always like, or want, to do it. I’m going to get a goal of cross training (with my Nike Training Club app) three times per week in addition to my November yoga challenge.

5. Drink more water

I’ve noticed over the past few weeks I’ve been struggling with drinking enough water. As soon as it starts to get cold in Calgary it gets very, very dry. However, because it’s cold, chugging back chilly water just isn’t all that appealing for me. Running combined with the drier atmosphere means I need to drink sufficient water on a daily basis. I’m going to set a goal of drinking 3 of my 750mL bottle at work for just over 2L in 8 hours, plus a glass in the AM and PM while at home.

So, there ya go, my plan for November.

Tell me: have you set any goals for November?

8 thoughts on “November Goals

  1. I haven’t set any goals for months, I’ve got a couple of things I’m planing on doing for 50 days from Sunday to keep myself motivated during winter when I get depressed and miserable. Getting your Christmas presents sorted in November would be super organised! I’m making a few presents this year, so I need to get on that this month but I need to sort out my nephew, mum and best friend’s birthday presents before I think about their Christmas presents. I also make the nephew’s birthday cake and this year he has requested a ‘minion’ cake, he’s really overestimating my skills in cake decorating but I need to work that out!

    For your water goal, do you drink herbal tea? If the issue is drinking cold stuff when it’s chilly then tea might help. My tea consumption goes up during the winter which really helps keep my hydrated!

    • I do drink tea! We have tea in our kitchen, but similar to drinking water, sometimes it’ just doesn’t cross my mind to walk my bum to the kitchen and make some tea! I’ll be adding 1-2 cups of tea to my list as well 🙂

      • I know that feeling! We have a team ‘tea call’ and all go to make it together, we’re a little strange that way and tea is basically a religion over here! It’s great though ’cause it gets me off my bum and reminds me to fill up my water bottle at the same time!

  2. Pingback: She’s Going the Distance | Are You the Gatekeeper?

  3. Pingback: Treat Yourself Tuesday | Cowgirl Runs

  4. Pingback: November Goals Wrap Up | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

