Plan for the week: Oct 21

pumpkins

Well, another weekend gone, and so begins another week.

This week is a pretty crazy one for me, I’m attending a conference all week and am starting off my Monday by waking up at 5am and flying to Northern Alberta, and I won’t be home until 9pm at night! I’ll be one tired cowgirl today, let me tell you!

Since this week is so dang busy, I spent a lot of time on Saturday making sure my meals were organized so I could just grab and go as needed for the week.

Breakfasts

I’m going back to green smoothies for breakfasts this week. Lunch is provided every day this week, so I want to make sure I’m getting lots of greens and healthy berries in the morning. To save time, I made freezer smoothie packs by putting 1c frozen berries and 1.5 handfuls of spinach in freezer bags. This way all I need to do is add my VegaOne, some juice/coconut water and kefir and blend away!

IMG_5739 

Snacks

I also wanted to be sure I was able to snack on healthy items. I’m always wary of events where food is supplied because they’re usually full of carbs carbs and more carbs. While I like my carbs, I also want to make sure my food is balanced. I measured out 1/4 of trail mix into five baggies to grab and go and pair with Kashi granola bars, fruit snacks (I really wanted fruit bars but couldn’t find them anywhere!) and cheese snacks.

IMG_5740

IMG_5741 

Lunches

These are provided. I’m assuming sandwiches or something? I’m crossing my fingers for healthy options!

Dinners

I’m really (really!) hoping dinner on Monday is somehow provided. Otherwise I’m going to be super cranky (and hungry) come 9pm tonight! Our itinerary only specifies lunch (and lunch at 1:30, which is late for this girl!) so I’ll be bring snacks with me! Dinner is also provided Wednesday and Thursday as part of networking evenings for the conference, so I really only need to cook Tuesday and Friday. I still have some leftover pumpkin pasta from Thursday, so that will do me for dinner on Tuesday and I’ll see what I feel like on Friday.

Exercise

After taking six days off from exercise, I went for a short run on Saturday and did some cross training on Sunday. I’m using my barre3 app (all workouts are ~10 minutes) and my Nike +Training Club app for cross training. I discovered Nike + about a year ago and I love the workouts. They’re 15-45 minutes in length and they hurt. Although I’m not much or a morning person, I’m going to try to wake up at 6am to get a quick workout in before my conference this week.

I also found workouts from Paula Radcliffe and Kara Goucher on my Nike + app! These two ladies could tell me to stand on my head and I’d totally do it, so if I’m pressed for time, I’ll tackle one of their 15 minute workouts in the morning.

IMG_5743 

IMG_5742

 

Do you make plans for your week?

Are you a morning or evening exerciser?

3 thoughts on “Plan for the week: Oct 21

    • So far today I’ve had 3 cups of coffee, 2 granola bars, 1 Danish, a sandwich on a bun the size of my face and a dozen chocolate covered almonds. I’ve not had my apple, cheese, or pear. Lack of sleep = eat all the food!!

  1. Pingback: Plan for the Week: Oct 28 | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

