Sweet Sunday

photo (70)

Okay friends hang on to your hats – I’m about to show you the bestest treat you will ever put in you mouth. (TWSS, amirite?!).

I’m probably not exaggerating. Probably.

First up, I did not come up with this recipe, this is from Hungry Runner Girl and you can see the original post here.

Now that’s out of the way, here’s what we’re making today: Cookie Dough Peanut Butter Cups.

RIGHT?!

photo (68) Here’s what you’ll need to make these:

  • 18oz chocolate chips (for Canadians, 18oz is ~500g, so buy yourself a 1kg bag so you’ll have some left)
  • 1/2c chocolate chips (just scoop out 1/2c from the 18oz and you’ll be good
  • 2c flour
  • 1c brown sugar
  • 1/2c sugar
  • 3/4c butter, melted
  • 4tbsp milk (I use almond milk)
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4c peanut butter
  • 1/3c icing sugar
  • 4tbsp graham cracker crumbs (I just put 6 graham crackers in a bag and mashed ‘em up)

photo (67) Start off by lining a mini-muffin tin. I used silicon muffin liners and they are worth their freaking weight in gold. Seriously!

I highly recommend using a mini-muffin tin if you have one; I made these with a regular muffin tin the first time and they were way too sweet and rich. Not that I’m complaining, but mini is a far better serving size.

Start off by melting the chocolate chips. You could use a double boiler, but I’m lazy and like to deal with the least number of dishes, so microwave it is for me! I heat in 30 second increments and give it a stir every 30 seconds. It took me just over a minute to melt them.

Then line the muffin liner with chocolate – you’ll want to cover the base and sides of the muffin liner.

photo (66) Once lined, pop in the fridge for 15 minutes to harden.

Apologies for the lack of action shots, my cat isn’t so skilled at taking pictures. We’re working on it.

While hardening, mix together the other fillings.

photo (65)

photo (62)

photo (64)

photo (63)

Okey doke, now it’s time to grab the harden chocolate cups from the fridge.

photo (61) The wine here is optional, but highly recommended!

Start by putting a small scoop of the PB mix in the base of each cup.

photo (60) Then top the PB mixture with the cookie dough mixture. I used a small cookie scoop for the cookie dough and it was the perfect size. Press down on the cookie dough to form into the cup.

photo (57) Pop everything into the fridge for a second time to set up – 15 minutes should be good here, too.

I had a ton of stuff leftover. I think you could get away with about 3/4 of the amounts and have enough. What to do with the leftovers?

Make one giant PB cup, of course!

photo (59) Once set, if you used silicon liners, you can pop the cups out of the liners, place into Ziploc bags and pop back into the fridge. If you used regular muffin liners, leave in the liner and pop into a bag to go into the fridge.

photo (58) Holy yum, right?!

It’s a dang good thing I’m running lots because I’m certain there is absolutely nothing healthy about these – but they are dang good!!

2 thoughts on “Sweet Sunday

    • Yeah, they’re ridiculous. Don’t ask how I managed to only eat one last night – it’s a miracle!
      (These are the treats I was saying you should make for Will!)

Leave a Reply

