Souvenirs

Two years ago I travelled to Anaheim with friends and ended up spending a day at Disneyland and California Adventure. On the way home I grabbed a coffee in the airport and saw Starbucks had awesome California and LA mugs.

Of course I bought them.

Once has since meet an untimely death; however, that hasn’t stopped me from purchasing Starbucks mugs everywhere I travel.

Houston, TX

photo (36)

Denver, CO

photo (41)

New York, New York

photo (40)

London (Okay,Β I didn’t go, but a friend brought them back for me)

photo (42)

Vancouver, BC

photo (39)

In the upcoming year I plan on adding the following to my collection:

  • Orlando, FL
  • Jacksonville, FL (if they make Jacksonville mugs!)
  • St Louis, MO
  • Chicago, IL
  • Las Vegas, NV

Places I’ve traveled to wherein I forgot to buy mugs (or just don’t have them):

  • Halifax, NS
  • Toronto, ON
  • Victoria, BC
  • Kelowna, BC

I also don’t yet have a Calgary, Alberta OR a Banff mug, so I’ll be on the lookout for those as well.

I also have some awesome unclassified Starbucks mugs.

Christmas 2012

photo (37)

A fox! (because FOX!)

photo (38)

Anniversary 2013

photo (34)

I’m not sure where I’m going to store all my mugs, but I’m going to keep adding to my collection – I love the idea of being able to use something every day that can remind me of a trip.

Here’s what my collection currently looks like:

photo (44)

photo (43)

Do you collect items from your travels?

17 thoughts on “Souvenirs

  1. Love the mugs! We collect shot glasses. We’re not huge drinkers (at least not of shots, wine yes) but they are usually pretty cute and small/ easy to store!

  2. Three things.

    1. The STL one is my favorite mug of all mugs. I use it every time I actually drink coffee at home.

    2. St Louis is in MO, not Michigan. πŸ™‚

    3. I collect shot glasses too. I have a ton.

  3. I also collect mugs from my trips. If I can’t find one to buy then I make one from pictures I’ve taken (shutterfly, baby).

    If you buy those hooks, you can screw them into the top of your cabinet and hang your mugs. It will still leave enough room to set a row of mugs on the shelf. That’s how I store my bajillion mugs. I have about 18 mugs hanging from hooks and then shelf filled with more mugs.

  4. I finally found your new blog – yay!!

    I pet the mugs all the time when I’m in Starbucks, but only bought the fox mugs for my kids. They are known as “hot chocolate mugs” in our house.

    • Yay!

      Actually, I think you were the one who told me about the fox mug – but it wasn’t available in Canada, so I was THRILLED to find it when I went to New York.

      I also have an unhealthy travel mug habit. Whoops.

  5. It is all your fault! I need to grab the Vancouver and Canada one. I guess i will need ones from where i’ve visited in the states too lol i see this getting expensive quickly but i hate my mugs now so why not?

    • Heh πŸ™‚ Anything I can do to help!
      At only $12 each it isn’t too bad. I’ll slowly acquire the ones I neglected to buy, but all new vacation? New mugs. Totally!

      ORLANDOOOOOOO

  6. Pingback: A Day of Food: Sick Day | Cowgirl Runs

  7. I collect Sbux city mugs too! Started when I was in London and fell in love with the London mug (before I even knew there was a whole line of them) Now we buy them whenever we travel anywhere that has a starbucks. I have these mugs: Calgary, Vancouver, Canada, Edmonton, Banff, Toronto, London (x 3 but 2 are broken and repurposed as pencil cups), England (x 2), Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, Las Vegas, Denver, Florida, San Francisco. Hubby is travelling this week so I expect we’ll have Atlanta and Dallas mugs when he gets home (we’d better). We only want mugs from places we’ve been so that keeps people from gifting them to us.

    My Original London mug actually has a funny story attached to it. I have had to replace it twice! The first one, I tripped while carrying it and cracked the handle, but my best friend was headed over so I asked her to get me a replacement and she did – but she sat on her backpack during her trip and cracked the handle on that one too. So then another friend was going (the one I had travelled with the first trip), but she didn’t fly through London and instead brought me an England one and he Aunt said that she couldn’t just bring one for me so they bought a second for hubby. Still, I didn’t have a working London mug and that was the one I wanted most because London was the start of my life again after my first marriage. So, when another good friend was going over for a week, I begged her to bring me back a London mug…and she did – but they had changed to the new style! So it still wasn’t the right mug. But now I won’t be hunting down another because the story is just too good about the tale of the London Mug! πŸ˜›

    • That mug just didn’t want to cooperate! I finally have a Calgary mug, and need to make a trip to Banff (or the airport) for the Banff one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

