Crazy Body

I know what you’re thinking: Yay! Another post about running! I LOVE reading about running 🙂

I know. Me too 🙂

This has been a pretty up and down week for running. If you had asked me yesterday afternoon how I felt about my runs I’d have told you they were crap and it was a crap running week.

If you asked me this morning how I fel about my runs I’d say pretty damn good.

It’s amazing the difference one run makes.

I wasn’t even sure if I’d end up making my run last night – I skipped my hills on Wednesday because I was feeling under the weather and my headache was hanging around a little bit on Thursday afternoon as well.

I had a chiropractor appointment in the evening, so I made sure to bring all of my running gear with me in case it worked out to go for a run. Not five minutes after leaving my house a thunderstorm rolled in with pouring rain – it sure looked like my run wasn’t going to happen. In the 15 seconds it took me to run from my car to my chiropractor’s office I was soaked. Ummm, definitely not running in that. No thank you.

However, when I left her office (Back and Body Health to anyone in Calgary. Go there, it’s amazing!) 40 minutes later the rain had stopped. HOORAY.

Decision made; the run was happening.

My initial plan was to go for an easy 10k run averaging around a 6:00min/km (9:36min/mile) pace just to warm up my legs.

I started off at what I thought was an easy and comfortable pace. I felt good, loose and relaxed.

Well, when RunKeeper told me my first km was done in 4:58 my entire plan for my run changed. I was going for a PR (personal record).

In training.

Why yes, I am certifiably insane.

10k 2 10k 1

 

This makes no sense to me, either.

It really doesn’t.

My previous PR for 10k was 55 done in July of this year.

Before then? 56 done in August of last year.

My body is definitely confusing me right now, but I’m just going to roll with it.

I am working on a separate post where I want to talk about why I think I’m faster, but for now, I’m just baffled and pleasantly surprised.

I’m not going to question it since I kinda like this newfound speed 🙂

One thought on “Crazy Body

  1. Pingback: I feel the need; the need for speed | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

