Meal planning like a boss

Confession: I suck at meal planning. As a result, I also suck at grocery shopping and staying within budget while grocery shopping.

Since my training plan has me running about a zillion miles a week, I figure I should be eating enough to compensate. I also don’t want to break the bank with food because stuff like massages and lululemon are also important to my well-being.

And so, here’s my attempt to meal plan. Thankfully I discovered Thug Kitchen (warning for language, but it’s awesome) which is a mainly vegan website that doesn’t break the bank, or have me buying all kinds of weird shit, which I like.

Confession: I like my meat and I like my cheese. I don’t even plan on giving those up (especially not red meat with my fatigue lately), but I do want to eat more plant-based and balanced. There’s nothing wrong with cheese and crackers, but I probably shouldn’t be eating it daily 😛

So, this brings me to my need for a meal plan. One that’s pretty straight forward, healthy and can be prepped (for the most part) in advance. I bring my lunch to work (go me!) and don’t usually eat dinner until nearly 8pm on week days because of my runs, so anything that can be cooked once and reheated, or prepped in advance is a winner for me!

In an attempt to better fuel myself for my runs and cut back on my grocery budget, I’m trying some meal planning for the next few weeks…

Sun Mon Tues Weds Thurs Fri Sat
B Oatmeal Smoothie Smoothie Smoothie Smoothie Smoothie Oatmeal
S ? Trail mix Trail mix Trail mix Trail mix Trail mix ?
L ? Veggie sandwich Veggie sandwich Veggie sandwich Veggie sandwich Veggie sandwich ?
S ? Banana Banana Banana Banana Banana Banana
D ? Steak & veg Steak & veg Steak & ceasar wrap Steak & ceasar wrap ? ?
S Almond milk & matcha Almond milk & matcha Almond milk & matcha Almond milk & matcha Almond milk & matcha Almond milk & matcha Almond milk & matcha

I don’t tend to plan much on weekends since I like to leave room for plans. Sometimes I’ll get together with friends and go out, other times (like on long-run days) I’ll not eat much or want to eat everything in sight.

There’s more steak than I had originally planned because I ended up purchasing 2 8oz steaks and although I want more iron, I certainly don’t need to be eating 8oz of steak in a serving!

Do you mean plan?

One thought on “Meal planning like a boss

  1. I definitely meal plan. I try to make a bunch on Sundays so that I have leftovers for meals during the week. I used to make a grocery list, too. But realistically, I don’t abide by it so I only write a list of things that I’d be pissed to forget. 🙂

Leave a Reply

