Fitting in my training

A common denominator for all races where I haven’t done well is a lack of training. It’s so easy to be gung-ho about training 16 weeks out, but, as always, life happens. Some runs fall off because of personal commitments, or (let’s face it) plain old laziness.

When I drew up my marathon training plan I knew I’d have to be diligent in getting my training in. My current schedule has me running 5 days a week, and I already know I’m probably going to end up dropping one of the steady runs and bring it down to 4 days a week and add in some more cross training.

My half marathon in is in 11 days, so now isn’t the time for me to slack off (it’s also not the time to throw in a ton of extra mileage, either) and this week definitely posed a problem. As part of some extra work I do, I’m helping CA students with sample exams Monday-Wednesday this week until 9:30pm. Nope, I don’t feel like running at 10pm. Nor do I feel like running at 5am. That really just leaves me with two options: 1) don’t run (not really an option) or 2) run at lunch.

So. Lunch it is.

I try to be super organized when running at lunch and even go so far as packing my running gear the night before. The fewer excuses I have, the more likely I’ll actually get out there and run. Really, the only thing that will hold me back from running on my lunch is rain. I really don’t want to feel like a drowned rat all afternoon.

photo (56)

Gym bag – because having a place to put smelly running clothes after a run is super important!

Even though my lunchtime runs are between 6km-8km, I still make sure to bring my Vega pre-workout energizer with me. I’ve noticed such a huge difference in my pace and endurance after I started fueling with this.

photo (57)

I measure my scoop into a baggie and bring my blender bottle to shake it up before my run. This will also be coming with me to all of my upcoming races. Fo-shizzle.

Aside from appropriate running attire (I always pack a short sleeve and long-sleeved top) here are the rest of my “must haves” for lunch time running:

photo (55)

My Newtons and K-tape for my shins. I ordered orthotics and should have them at some point this week, so I might finally be able to stop taping my shin (and do away with crazy tan lines!)

photo (52)

All taped and ready to go!!

Just this year I started running with music. After a handful of runs where I was continually pushing my ear buds back into place, I finally bought a pair of Yurbuds. Oh my, these are truly amazing.

Also important? A place to store my phone. I use both Songza (since Pandora and Spotify aren’t available in Canada) and RunKeeper when I’m running. (It’s a darn good thing I have a good data plan!)

photo (51)

After all that, I’m ready to run!

I don’t bring water with me on my shorter runs, but I know it’s super important to hydrate once I’m done my run, so I keep a few containers of nuun tablets in my office to help restore my electrolyte balance. For my long runs, I use the Vega Recovery Accelerator, but I don’t feel I need the extra boost for shorter runs.

photo (50)

And, finally, because I do tend to sweat when I run, I keep a pack of makeup remover clothes in my gym bag, so I don’t feel all sweaty and gross after a run. Since most of these runs are short-ish and are at a comfortable pace, I don’t get terribly gross. If I know I have a hard run, I’ll save that for the evenings. No one likes a smelly co-worker 🙂

photo (54)

When is your favourite time to work out?

4 thoughts on “Fitting in my training

  1. “tend” to sweat made me laugh! I’m a sweater. I hate it.

    I’m trying so hard to get back into running. I used to run 5-7 miles easy, and since I had my kid (FOUR years ago) I’ve had trouble. I’m hoping by the end of this year I’ll be back to where I was, now that I’m serious about getting there. If you have any websites/blogs that you recommend do share!

    • You might hate me for this, but my current favourite running blog is The TRex Runner: http://trexrunner.com/
      Thanks to her I signed up for a marathon. Ugh. She’s absolutely hilarious 🙂

      Getting back into running after a break is the WORST because you’re so used to being able to run a certain distance and then you can’t and it sucks. I get it.

      Forgive me, but I can’t remember if you’re friends with Krissie or not but she is amazing. She has an online life coaching/running coaching business http://myradicalcommitment.com/ and is a runner herself.

Leave a Reply

