Single Girl Suppers: When you just don’t feel like cooking

I’m pretty sure I can’t be the only person who will come home from work, open the fridge and just stare, and stare, and stare and declare “I have no food” all the while my fridge is full.

We all have those days where cooking is the absolute last thing we want to do. While eating out (or ordering in) may be an option, sometimes we want to save the cash (or the calories!) so here are what I’ve come to like as staples for those nights were I just don’t feel like cooking.

  • Frozen pizza. I buy what I call chick pizzas the thin crust ones with veggies. Half a pizza is roughly 600 calories. Sure, it’s not great, but it’s better than not eating. Pop the sucker in the oven at 400* and in 20 minutes you have a dinner and leftovers!
  • Bagged salad. I’m a huge fan of bagged salads. My grocery store has a ton of options! I really like to supplement them with extra veggies, and even cheese to up the nutrition and calories. Most bagged salads come in around 200 calories for the whole bag with dressing, which might be a bit low for dinner. Sometimes I’ll have some cheese and crackers on the side.
  • Frozen veggies. When I really don’t want to think, I’ll heat up some frozen veggies and some protein. Eggs are great, I can poach them in my microwave, or hardboil them (and curse while attempting to remove the dang shells) and have dinner ready in about 15 minutes.
  • Soup & sandwich. Is there anything more perfect that tomato soup and grilled cheese? I don’t eat these much during the summer (unless it’s chilly) but during the winter? Absolute perfection.

What are your go to “I don’t wanna cook” dinners?

6 thoughts on “Single Girl Suppers: When you just don’t feel like cooking

  1. Chipotles. 🙂

    Easy on the brown rice, heavy on the black beans, whichever meat I’m in the mood for, mild salsa for the chunky maters and medium salsa for some heat, fajita veggies, no cheese, no sour cream, extra guacamole.

    This is my staple on Friday nights when my husband heads up to our place off the grid early.

    Otherwise, it’s a spinach omelet. Easy, easy, easy!

    Or cereal.

    • I’ve never had a meal at Chipotles. It’s on my list of places to visit next time I’m in the States – Orlando maybe?!
      And maybe I’ll actually break down and have to try the Hate Chicken Sandwich too 😛

  2. Chips and salsa! I also love throwing frozen chicken breasts and a jar of salsa into the crock pot. It falls apart beautifully and tastes awesome wrapped up in a lettuce leaf!

  3. Pingback: Single Girl Suppers: Embellished Salad | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

