Unraveling the year ahead: 2013

Truthfully?

I didn’t want to set any resolutions for 2013.

2012 was such a difficult year (I couldn’t see it when I was in it, but now I can see how unfocused I was; how I lost sight of me) that I didn’t want to reflect. I wanted to let 2013 come in and just keep going.

But? I knew that wouldn’t make for a better me in 2013. I needed to reflect on 2012, the mistakes I made and where I fell short, in order to make 2013 a good year.

And so, enter unraveling the year ahead: 2013 the workbook.

Thinking back on 2012 there were tears.

Looking forward to 2013?

Hope. So. Much. Hope.

My word for 2013: FOCUS.

I lived so much of 2012 unfocused, I just……did. No rhyme or reason, just did. It didn’t work out so well for me.

Part of the unravelling is the threes and so, friends, I bring you my threes for 2013.

List three things about yourself that you positively love

(Confession: this was really, really difficult)

  1. I always look for the best in people
  2. My smile
  3. Drive –> I WON’T give up

List 3 things about yourself you feel ready to let go of

  1. Fear
  2. Lack of discipline
  3. Lack of trust

List 3 goals you’d like to achieve this year

  1. New job
  2. Finish a marathon
  3. Save for a house

List 3 people you feel will support you in 2013

  1. God
  2. DoCo
  3. The Cowboy

List 3 passions/hobbies that you would like to explore more in 2013

  1. Photography
  2. Running
  3. Cooking

List 3 duties or commitments you feel ready to release in 2013

  1. Giving in to fear
  2. Committing to things that aren’t fulfilling
  3. Letting others dictate my feelings

List 3 ways you would like to feather your nest this year

  1. Only own items that fulfill me
  2. Invite people over for fellowship
  3. Watch less TV

List 3 things you will do each morning start your day

  1. Pray
  2. Savour a cup of coffee
  3. Smile

List 3 ways you will be kind to your body this year

  1. Run more
  2. Stretch more
  3. Monthly massages

List 3 places you would like to visit in 2013

  1. Hawaii
  2. Vancouver
  3. Victoria (marathon)
  4. Costa Rica

List 3 ways you’ll connect with loved ones this year

  1. Monthly breakfasts/dinners with girlfriends
  2. Regular emails with friends who live away
  3. Monthly phone calls with family

List 3 treats you will gift your beautiful self in 2013

  1. Time to paint my nails weekly
  2. A beautiful and hopeful 30th birthday
  3. Something from Tiffany’s

2013 will be the year I finally run a MARATHON!

I will nourish myself with prayer and kind words.

It is my intention to let go of the fear of being unworthy.

This year I will spend time with God.

This year I will do my best to forgive myself for the mistakes I’ve made.

This year I will be brave when I move out of the condo.

This year I will remember to LOVE.

I wish for 2013 to feel freeing; full of possibilities and love; hopeful – anything is possible!

This year I will say NO to commitments which do not fulfill me and fear.

This year I will say YES to believing in ME!

What is your secret wish for 2013?

I’ll tell y’all when it happens.

Friends, I truly encourage you to visit the site linked above and map out your 2013.

While I know I’m on a long road, I’m ready to tell a good story and I’m so looking forward to 2013!!

2 thoughts on “Unraveling the year ahead: 2013

  1. Pingback: One down | The Urban Cowgirl

Leave a Reply

