Food Plan

I never did set any October goals. I was in Yellowknife for work when October rolled around, then I was in Kelowna and now it’s October 15!

Where has the month gone?!

So, instead of setting goals, I’m focusing on being healthy. I previously set a fitness schedule into January and this week I’m also working on planning out healthy meals.

I try and loosely plan our meals before I go grocery shopping as I don’t like buying food that won’t end up getting eaten, so here’s my plan based upon my grocery shop.

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
B Toast, PB, banana Toast, PB, banana Toast, PB, banana Toast, PB, banana Toast, PB, banana Toast, PB, banana Toast, PB, banana
L Soup Soup Soup Soup Soup TBD TBD
S Greek yogurt Greek yogurt Greek yogurt Greek yogurt Greek yogurt TBD TBD
D Chicken
Squash
Tofu with veggies Reuben sandwich Sushi (work event) Mexican (date night) Pasta (spaghetti squash for me!) TBD

 

When meal planning I tend to leave our weekends a bit open. I like to grab groceries on Saturday, so our lunches are usually inspired by something I see in the store. We also like to take in a movie on weekends, so we might just grab Subway and sneak it into the theatre.

I believe that well planned meals are a great idea, but I also don’t want to buy a bunch of meal fixin’s and have them go to waste because we changed our plans. (I’m sure the brie and pear sandwich will sneak in for lunch one day this coming weekend).

I’ve also decided to make some changes in how I look at food.

1. No alcohol during the week. Wine/beer will only be consumed on Friday/Saturday evenings (and at the occasional work event).

2. Substitute spaghetti squash for past at dinner time. The Cowboy LOVES pasta and when I’m working on eating healthfully he doesn’t get to eat pasta as much as he’d like, so as a compromise (and so I can still enjoy the flavours that go with pasta) I’m going to eat spaghetti squash and he can enjoy his delicious pasta.

3. Drink. More. Water. MORE WATER. I can tell fall is here because the air is really, really dry. I regularly wake up parched and I think being more consistent in my H2O intake will help this.

4. Limit processed food. In the past, I’d just buy the butternut squash soup I want to eat for lunch, but I really want to know what I’m putting in my body. It may take a bit more prep time, but knowing what I’m consuming is important, so it’s worth the extra effort.

Butternut Squash Soup with Chicken Apple Sausage (adapted from Food Network Magazine)

image

I had The Cowboy hack the squash in half for me – you’ll need an extra sharp knife for this!

soup15

Next spend the next 30 minutes chopping veggies.

First, carrots:

soup14

Then celery:

soup13

And finally the onion

soup12

I then layered all the aromatics in a measuring cup

soup8

Then it’s time to tackle the squash!

I cut it into quarters

soup9

and then started peeling away.

It can be a bit tricky, but I try to peel past the green to ensure all the tough parts on the squash are gone

soup2

After all the peel is gone it’s time to start chopping!

soup1

I’m not too fussed about the size of the chop and the squash will soften quite a bit during cooking.

I mixed things up a bit this time and sautéed the squash with some sage to deepen the flavour and help the squash to cook faster.

(Next time I’m going to roast the squash an onion for an even deeper flavour).

soup3

After about 8 minutes I transferred the squash to a bowl, added more olive oil and tossed in the aromatics to soften.

soup7

Once the onion is translucent (about 5 minutes) add the squash, 2.5 cups chicken stock, 2.5 cups water and seasonings (I used salt, pepper and nutmeg).

soup6

Bring up to a boil and cook for 15-25 minutes until squash and carrots are softened.

In batches, blend in blender to make the soup nice and velvety.

soup5

When putting hot food in a blender it’s really (really) important to remove the hole in the blender lid and just cover with a towel while blending. The hole lets the steam and pressure created by blending escape. If you forget to do this your lid might pop off and your kitchen might be covered with hot soup goo.

Once blended pour into containers, cool and pop in the fridge.

soup4

The original recipe did call for adding in chicken apple sausage (sliced) after blending, but I wanted a purely vegetarian soup for this week. If you want some more protein and calories (as you can see, it’s a tad low in calories if you’re eating it alone for lunch) definitely add in the sausage!

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention my soup helper!

Merlin usually likes to sit on the bar stools by the counter and watch us while we clean and cook

soup11

But The Cowboy and I left our drying mats on the counter, so as soon as I turned my back, he did this

soup10

What a turkey!

He’s lucky he’s so dang cute!

Do you plan your meals in advance?

3 thoughts on “Food Plan

  1. I don't currently plan my meals in advance, but I really would like to. I think there will be a LOT of meals that can be prepped ahead of time, and tossed in the oven when I get home from work, and also lots of crockpot meals – because by the time I get home from work and get the girls fed, Hubs is home from work and dinner isn't even started yet… I need more time in my day, and I think advance meal planning (and prepping) would help me find some 🙂

    • During my busy season I make ALL of my breakfasts and lunches in advance on the weekend so all I have to do is grab them out of the fridge on my way out the door. Otherwise? Starbucks scones will be eaten :SThankfully (I think?) I work late enough that I can buy dinner, but that's also a trap in that I end up buying junk. A long long time ago I used to make one meal to eat for the whole week, but that also got boring because by Thursday I'd be all NO MOAR! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Plan | The Urban Cowgirl

Leave a Reply

