Cowgirl Christmas Treats

Now that the tree is up and I’ve found my Christmas spirit – it’s time for some Christmas treats!

Last year The Cowboy and I spend Christmas in Mexico, so I didn’t both with any treats. The year before I was so busy with work that I didn’t have time to make any treats.

With my dad coming today (yikes! TODAY!) and The Cowboy’s parents coming on the 29th, it’s high time I make some Christmas treats!

I’m sticking with relatively simple, but yummy, treats this year.

Obviously, I will be making shortbread; however, I’m making cheater shortbread. Thanks Superstore for having shortbread mix that rivals that of Williams Sonoma for only $2.49! (this will be popped into the oven as soon as I walk in the door today.

Next is a family staple that I haven’t made in ages. We call them Soldiers. They’re a German treat and they get their name because once made they look like soldiers. The recipe is very, very simple:

  • icing sugar
  • egg white
  • lemon juice

(No, I don’t have exact measurements. I used just under 2 pounds of icing sugar, 2 egg whites and roughly 1/4 cup lemon juice until it was a sticky mixture that was able to be formed into balls. You want this to be fairly thick)

Pro tip: don’t be like me and dump the icing sugar into a bowl and then add the egg white and lemon juice. Start with the liquid and then continue to add the icing sugar until it’s stiff. You need it still enough to form balls and hold their shape.

Mix the above together and form into balls.

Let the balls harden for at least 24 hours, dip into chocolate and finish off with a hazelnut.

The Cowboy also requested a batch to be made with Toblerone – I was happy to oblige.

And finally, sugar plums.

I had no clue what a sugar plum was until I read this post by Cassie.

How easy is that recipe?!

And, it’s mostly healthy. More like an energy ball than a ball of pure sugar like the soldiers above.

What are your Christmas treats?

Obviously, my theme this year is balls πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Cowgirl Christmas Treats

  1. OOOHH I Love christmas baking! My favorites are snowballs and almond toffee and gingerbread, plus pink peppermint cookies. (I'm a bit obsessed, can you tell?) Plus i make a buche de noel every year for christmas dinner. Oh and palmiers dipped in chocolate. mmmmmm
    My recent post 12 Days of presents Day 6

  2. Pingback: Friday Faves | Cowgirl Runs

  3. Pingback: Christmas “To-Do” List | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

