Pepper Jelly: Take 2

Or maybe, take 3?

This past weekend a good friend came over and we spent 4 hours together making pepper jelly. We made 3 different types:  sweet red pepper, green pepper and spicy green pepper. That’s 36 1 cup jars of jelly.

Not a single jar set into jelly.

Not one.

On Sunday I remade the recipe by adding 3 tbsp of sugar, 1 tsp of vinegar and 1 tsp of pectin to each cup of jelly. This took 2 hours.

The following morning? It still wasn’t set.

Let me tell you – I was not a happy camper. Not. At. All.

I debating attempting to remake a third time, but after looking up recipes it appears our pepper to pectin ratio was off. WAY OFF.

The recipe we used called for 8 large bell peppers. The recipe I used last year calls for 1 1/2 cup of bell peppers. So, like 2-3 peppers.

No freaking wonder it didn’t set!

This weekend I decided to remake the batches and make the following: sweet red, spicy green and spicy yellow (because The Cowboy wanted yellow pepper jelly). So 36 jars all to myself.

Here’s the tried and true recipe if anyone wants to make it themselves (recipe from Company’s Coming):

  • 1 1/2 cups chopped red peppers (I probably ended up using closer to 2 cups of peppers for the recipe)
  • 1/4 jalapeño pepper (with or without seeds depending on your taste)
  • 1 1/2 cups white vinegar
  • 6 1/2 cups sugar
  • 6 ounces pectin (or, for the Canadians, about 180 mL)
  1. Put the chopped peppers and vinegar in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth
  2. Pour into a large pot and add the sugar. Cook over medium heat until the sugar dissolves and bring to a boil, stirring. Boil for 3 minutes (note: I boil for 10 minutes here)
  3. Stir in the pectin and bring to a full rolling boil on high heat. Boil for 1 minute (I increased the boiling time to 2 minutes)
  4. Remove from the heat, and skim off the foam if there is any.
  5. Pour into hot sterilized jars, leaving 1/4 inch of head space
  6. Wipe the rims with a clean cloth, and top with hot snap lids and rings (according to manufacturer instructions)
  7. Process in a boiling hot water bath for about 10 minutes to seal. (Note: if you live 1000 ft above sea level (like I do) you’ll need to at 5 minutes processing time).
If you don’t have a boiling water canner, just put the cans in a water bath making sure to cover 1 inch above the lids and boil.
The above recipe makes exactly 9 250mL jars, so I ended up making 4 batches of 9 jars instead of 3 batches of 12 jars. They are: sweet red, sweet red and orange, slightly spicy green (2 jalapeños with seeds) and super spicy orange (4 jalapeños with seeds).
Wondering where the pictures are? Here, of course!

3 thoughts on “Pepper Jelly: Take 2

    • And it tastes delicious! But it's the most expensive home-made jelly ever! Sheesh. I probably spent 10 hours in total making jelly. Yikes.

      • I'll bet. You're more tenacious than I am. If a batch of jam/jelly doesn't set, I just use it as syrup for pancakes because I'm lazy. 🙂 (not pepper jellies, though…that would be gross.)
        My recent post Silly Human Tricks

Leave a Reply

