Traveling Light

The new header is finally (FINALLY!) up! It took some tweaking this morning and I think we might need to make the header file a teeny bit bigger, but it’s done and it’s there. If you don’t see it clear your cache and come back. I think y’all will like it. (RSS feed readers, it’s totally worth the click. PROMISE! 🙂

***

Can someone tell me why I always want to spell “traveling” as “travelling”?!

Nearly two weekends ago I spent 40 hours in Winnipeg for a family celebration, my Oma and Opa are celebrating 60 years of wedded bliss.

60! Can you believe it?!

Since I was flying in and out and was really only going to be there for 40 hours, I didn’t want to worrying about checking a bag, or taking too much luggage.

I’m notorious for overpacking so I started mentally planning early in the week in the hopes that I’d be able to get everything into my two allowable carry-ons.

And my awesomely stylish fanny pack (shut up! You know it’s awesome!)

I knew clothes wouldn’t be the issue, all I needed was an outfit for the plane

Yeah yeah fanny pack!

An outfit for the party on Saturday evening

And an outfit for brunch on Sunday

Easy!

It all fits on the bed with room to spare!

But – it’s the toiletries that always kill me!

On Thursday I had to go to the mall to pick up some jeans I had hemmed and I popped by The Body Shop and Bath and Body Works to see what they had in travel size (since this is trip 1 out of 4 I’m making in the next 8 weeks, I decided this wasn’t going against my “no spending” rule).

I didn’t need to bring anything to wash my face with as I had found these awesome wipes that I was using when I was biking to and from work.

I also didn’t bring any shampoo or conditioner as I washed my hair on Saturday after my run and was going to be home by 9am on Monday and could shower then.

Here’s what I needed to bring toiletry-wise:

  • Lotion
  • Deodorant (did you know it’s not considered a solid?!)
  • Perfume
  • Lip balm
  • Lip gloss
  • Hair spray

Not a whole heck of a lot, but it can be challenging to fit all the above into the designated 1L baggies required by airport security.

Amazingly, I was successful! I even blow dried my hair before heading out on the Saturday so I’d have “did” hair for the party Saturday evening.

The next few weeks consist of some absolutely crazy traveling, so this was a great dry run! On Monday I’m off to Toronto for the first time ever! I don’t think I’ll be able to do it with a carry-on as I need work clothes and my computer (I’m debating bringing my work computer AND my personal computer, but that’s just crazy!) but I’m going to aim to pack as light as possible!

Remainder of the Winnipeg weekend to come!

One thought on “Traveling Light

  1. Aside from the fanny pack, I am so jealous of all your clothes. i think I would die if I went into your closet. Even your workout clothes, bags and face wipes are cool!!! Really! Can you dump out your purse and take a picture? I have a feeling you have all kinds of cool stuff in there!!!

Leave a Reply

