Starbucks Friday

When I worked downtown every Friday I’d stop by Starbucks or my favourite bakery for breakfast and coffee.

Some weeks, especially in busy season, the only thing that would get me through the week was knowing I’d be enjoying a spinach and feta wrap or a greek yogurt parfait with coffee at the end of the week.

I’m not yet back downtown, but I decided to start the tradition a little early but heading to Starbucks for breakfast and lunch today 🙂

Breakfast was yummy, with the exception of dumping green tea lemonade on my new sweater. Hrmph. (GTL’s don’t taste that great after brushing your teeth, either).

Health-wise the breakfast wrap isn’t bad. Total calories 280, 10g of fat and 18g of protein.

For lunch I decided to give the new Bistro Box a whirl. I’m not a big fan of Starbucks sandwiches, they always seem to be too bready. I’d heard good things about the Bistro Box, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

I’m also hoping I can find a Bistro Box at the Starbucks in the airport tomorrow so I can have some lunch on the plane.

Nutrition-wise the sesame noodle Bistro Box isn’t stellar, but it’s not terrible, either. At 450 calories with 12g of fat and 16g of protein. Personally, I’d like to see a little more protein and a lot less sodium, but it is prepackaged food.

The vegetables were surprisingly crisp and fresh. I was expecting squishy broccoli, but it was tender crisp and yummy! Definitely a decent tasting convenient lunch.

All in, all 730 calories for both breakfast and lunch is very reasonable, especially since I’m going to factor that in and eat a salad for dinner. I might even splurge with a glass of wine!

One thought on “Starbucks Friday

Leave a Reply

