How I avoided cooking this week

On Sunday night, after a very long day, I tweeted this:

And cook I did. I haven’t had to do anything other than assemble a salad and reheat food all week, and it’s been pretty fantastic!

I used to do this all the time, cook a big pot of chili, or a lasagna, and then reheat for a week. It makes our weeks so much simpler. I realize there is only two of us, but we both work long hours, I’m not home until 8 or 9 a few days a week because of my runs, and, let’s face it, we’re both pretty lazy.

This works well for us. I pick healthy recipes and pair it with a salad. It’s built in portion control.

This recipe is out of the Eat, Shrink and Be Merry cookbook. We received this as a Christmas gift from The Cowboy’s grandmother 4 or 5 years ago, and we’ve always loved the recipes. I was really impressed.

The recipe is Mexican Lasagna, and it’s delicious! Hearty and full of lean protein, vegetables and fiber (and cheese! cheese is awesome!).

Mexican Lasanga

The ingredients, here’s what you’ll need:

1 1/2 pounds of extra lean ground chicken (you can use extra lean ground beef if you insist)

1 cup each diced red onion and green pepper (I refuse to measure veggies, so I did 1 pepper and 1/2 an onion)

2 tsp minced garlic (I used 3 cloves)

1 cup canned black beans (I used one can – 340mL)

1 cup diced tomatoes (I used one can – 340mL)

1/2 frozen or canned corn (I used 1 cup.) (Missing from the picture)

1 1/2 tsp chili powder (because of the extra ingredients above I used 2 tsp)

1 tsp ground cumin

2 cups pasta sause

1 cup medium salsa

2 tbsp minced cilantro (I probably used about a 1/4 cup) (You can omit if you’re one of those people who hate cilantro)

4 large whole wheat tortillas

1 1/2 cups packed shredded cheddar cheese (I went with Montery Jack this time)

1/4 cup chopped green onion

Mexican Lasanga

Start by dicing the pepper and onions. Notice the insane looking knife. The Cowboy bought this at the home show 2 weeks ago. I’m pretty sure it’s sharp enough to chop off a finger. I was a little scared. Luckily it was not Mexican Lasagna with a side of finger.

Mexican Lasanga

I really suck at dicing onions, so The Cowboy graciously stepped in to do some dicing for me.

Mexican Lasanga

Put the chicken, pepper, onion and garlic in a sauce pan and cook until the chicken is cooked through.

Mexican Lasanga

While waiting for the chicken to cook I measured my 1 cup of frozen corn…

Mexican Lasanga

…1 cup salsa with 2 cups pasta sauce (plain old marinara sauce because that’s what was open in the fridge)…

…and drained the can of black beans.

Mexican Lasanga

Once the chicken is cooked throw in the corn, beans, diced tomatoes, and salsa/tomato sauce mixture. Also add the chili powder and cumin.

Mexican Lasanga

While that cooks down for 5 minutes, chop of cilantro, green onions and shred cheese (I also ate some cheese while shredding).

Mexican Lasanga

Next up? Assemble.

I always get really worried I’m going to do it wrong, so I have to read the directions at least twice to make sure I understand.

I spread 2 cups mixture on the bottom.

Mexican Lasanga

Layered 2 tortillas on top (I cut the tortillas in half and then place the straight edges along the pan)

Mexican Lasanga

Add another 2 cups of sauce (or, approximately 1/3)

Mexican Lasanga

Top with 1/2 the cheese

Mexican Lasanga

Layer the remaining 2 tortillas on top

Mexican Lasanga

Top with the remaining sauce

Mexican Lasanga

Sprinkle with cheese and green onions.

Pop into a 375* oven for 35 minutes (cover with tin foil. I also put a cookie sheet on the rack below to prevent drips in my oven)

Mexican Lasanga

Take out, let cool and enjoy!

This recipe feeds us for 4 nights (8 servings total). I’m fairly certain we’re going to carry on the not cooking tradition tomorrow and head to a new pub in town.

Next week will probably be veggie chili with buns and salad for dinner.

I kinda like this being lazy thing 🙂

4 thoughts on “How I avoided cooking this week

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention How I avoided cooking this week « The Urban Cowgirl -- Topsy.com

  2. I just came in to say that I think your kitchen is amaze-balls. I'm so jealous. I'm a city-dweller with limited counter space and I use my oven to store dog food and potting soil.

    The recipe looks delicous.

Leave a Reply

