What I’m reading this month

photo (45)

After stocking up on books last week, I thought I’d write a bit about some other books I have on my eReader (I have a Kobo!).

Recently I’ve been spending far too much time reading blogs (and blog archives) and not reading real books, so I’m hoping to get through some real books in October!

I think has to do with school starting in the fall, but September-December always seems to be a season of self-growth for me, so these books definitely reflect that.

I also found that Next Issue is coming to Canada! Yay! Rogers Wireless subscribers (like me!) can get access on October 15 with a two month free trial, everyone else will receive a one month free trial starting December 15 (sorry Telus and Bell peeps) (deets here). I’ve been wanting to do more business and money reading, but haven’t wanted to commit to a subscription, and Next Issue will solve that problem for me :)

Currently Reading

Money: A Love Story

MoneyALoveStoryCover-300

I’m about halfway through this book and am so far really enjoying it. I wasn’t sure if I’d like it after reading the first chapter, but I feel more confident in taking control over my finances (see my post on budgeting, my Oct goals and new-found love of Our Freaking Budget) and that’s a great feeling!

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

quiet

I’m also about halfway through this book. So far I’ve found it absolutely fascinating really! The scientific studies are wonderful and this book has been a huge help in allowing me to truly understand myself and why I am the way I am. For those wondering, I’m a moderate introvert, according to Susan’s quiz.

To Read This Month

Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity

Getting_Things_Done

Okay, so the book cover is totally lame and very unappealing, but from the tiny bit I’ve read, I believe it’ll help me alleviate some stress in my life and be an overall more productive person.

My favourite piece of advice so far?

When you feel overwhelmed/stressed is to write out your first step, so your brain can move on to other things. If you still feel stressed, then the step isn’t specific enough.

Boom! (I think this is what Oprah calls an a-ha! moment)

Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us

drive book

Much better cover, no?

Lately I’ve been having some trouble reconciling my job with my desire to do good in the world. Don’t misunderstand that I don’t love my job, I do; I feel very blessed to have the job that I do, but sometimes I want to make an impact in the world. I want to better understand why I feel that way and how I can align my job with that desire.

I think that’s also why I blog and why I’ve been talking so much about running and fitness and goals lately. If I can help other people, then that’s awesome (to me!)

Promote Yourself: The New Rules for Career Success

promote yourself

When I blogged before I didn’t really have any goals other than to just blog, but I’ve realized blogging is really fulfilling for me, so I’d like to become 1) a better blogger and 2) better at promoting my blog, so I’m hoping this book will give me a leg up.

I’m also not awesome at promoting myself in a work environment: two areas, one book. Excellent!

On My Reading List (aka – to read in 2013. ish)

David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants

OB-XP895_davida_JV_20130527233557

I quite like Malcolm Gladwell. I thoroughly enjoyed Outliers: The Story of Success
, and I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this one just as much.

Twentysomething: Why Do Young Adults Seem Stuck?

Twenty Something_Henig

Okay, so I don’t necessarily fall into the twenty something age range, but some days I do still feel stuck; like I’m faking it. I know this is something a lot of my friends can relate to. This book sounds like an interesting read.

Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps

Adulting_Kelly Williams Brown

While I’ve never read Kelly Williams Brown’s blog, the title of this book already has me hooked.

Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation

Cooked_Michael Pollan

I have a confession: I’ve never read a Michael Pollan book until now.

I know, right?!

I actually own this book and it’s been sitting on my footstool for months. Now my goal is to read it by the end of the year.

The Sports Gene: Inside the Science of Extraordinary Athletic Performance

The Sports Gene_David Epstein

The October issue of Running Times had a summary/review of this book and I’m already hooked. I love the idea of breaking down the why of our bodies. Why is it that marathoners come from a certain country? I also think this book will tie in nicely to Malcolm Gladwell’s David and Goliath above.

Disclaimer: links above are Amazon Associate links. If you buy a book I might have enough for a coffee, but not Starbucks. Maybe.

Looking for more books? Take a look at Greatest’s 2013 and 2012 must read books.

Tell me, what’s on your reading list?

3 thoughts on “What I’m reading this month

  1. Pingback: Thursday Things | Cowgirl Runs

  2. Pingback: Link Love: 1/11 | Cowgirl Runs

  3. Pingback: Currently Reading | Cowgirl Runs

Leave a Reply

